October 25, 2006 - by
Florida State’s Davis Named To Lott Award Defensive Player Of The Year List

Oct. 25, 2006

Florida State University senior linebacker Buster Davis, who is bidding to become the first Seminole to lead the ACC in tackles, has been named a quarterfinalist for the Lott Trophy which is presented to the college football defensive player of the year. Now in its third year, the Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal attributes of each candidate. The award is named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott.

Davis, from Daytona Beach, Fla., leads the team in tackles with 63. He has four tackles for loss, two sacks, an interception and two forced fumbles. He has recorded his season high of 12 tackles twice this season – in victories over Miami and Troy. Davis has led the team in tackles four times in seven games and has recorded double-digit tackles in three different games. He is ranked second in the ACC and 31st nationally in tackles on the season.

Davis was named the national collegiate player of the week for his 12-tackle performance against Miami and has been named the ACC Player of the Week twice already this season.

David Pollack of Georgia in 2004 and DeMeco Ryans of Alabama in 2005 were the first two winners of the Lott Trophy. Both Georgia and Alabama received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In the first two years of the life of the award, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated $170,000 to various charities in addition to the two universities of the two winners. The Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches. The watch list will be trimmed to seven semifinalists on Nov. 9 and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 27.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach Dec. 10.

The 17 Quarterfinalists:
H.B. Blades, Sr, LB, Pitt
Mkistro Bruce, Sr, DE, Washington State
Tim Crowder, Sr., DE, Texas
Buster Davis, Sr., LB, Florida State
Michael Griffin, Sr., DB, Texas
Korey Hall, Sr., LB, Boise State
Leon Hall, Sr., CB, Michigan
Daymeion Hughes, Sr., CB, Cal
LaRon Landry, Sr., S, LSU
Quentin Moses, Sr., DE, Georgia
Sam Olajubutu, Sr., LB, Arkansas
Quinn Pitcock, Sr., DT, Ohio State
Paul Posluszny, Sr., LB, Penn State
Anthony Spencer, Sr., DE, Purdue
Eric Weddle, Sr., DB, Utah
Patrick Willis, Sr., LB, Mississippi
LaMarr Woodley, Sr., DE, Michigan
Related Articles