September 15, 1999 - by
Florida State’s McDougall Named Golden Spikes Finalist

Sept. 15, 1999

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – USA Baseball has announced that Florida
State second baseman Marshall McDougall is one of five finalists for the
1999 Golden Spikes Award, amateur baseball’s most prestigious award.
The 22nd annual presentation of the Award will be held on November 3 at
the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada.

“I am honored to be one of the five finalists for the Golden
Spikes Award,” said McDougall. “Just to be mentioned with these other
four guys is a great feeling.”

Nebraska’s Ken Harvey, Miami’s Bobby Hill, Baylor’s Jason
Jennings and USC’s Eric Munson are the other four finalists.

Florida State has had three Golden Spikes Award winners. J.D.
Drew (1997), Mike Lonyd (1986) and Mike Fuentes (1981) each won the
award during their Seminole careers.

“Marshall is certainly a deserving finalist,” said head coach
Mike Martin. “The season he put together and the season he helped this
team put together will never be forgotten. We have had a great history
with the Golden Spikes Award at Florida State with three of the most
outstanding players of this program as winners.”

McDougall, who helped lead FSU to the national championship game
of the College World Series, hit .419 with 28 home runs on the year.
The consensus All-American led the country with 126 hits and 106 RBI.
McDougall won the ACC Triple Crown and was named ACC Player of the Year.
He was also named the Most Outstanding Player at the College World
Series after hitting .385 with 22 total bases, three home runs and eight

McDougall set NCAA single game records at Maryland on May 9,1999
with six home runs, 16 RBI and 25 total bases on the day. A 26th-round
selection by the Boston Red Sox, McDougall returned to FSU for his
senior season.

Related Articles