April 8, 2006 - by
Football Coaches Announce Spring Award Winners

April 8, 2006

The Florida State football coaches announced the 2006 spring award winners prior to Saturday’s Garnet & Gold game. Junior linebacker Lawrence Timmons and sophomore tailback Antone Smith were named co-winners of the Hinesman Award, which is given to the most dominant player each spring. Smith shared MVP honors on offense with fellow tailback Lorenzo Booker while Timmons was named the defense’s MVP as well. Here’s a complete list of the 2006 spring practice award winners:

Most Valuable Player (Offense): Lorenzo Booker & Antone Smith
Most Valuable Player (Defense): Lawrence Timmons
Hinesman (Most Dominant): Antone Smith & Lawrence Timmons

Most Improved QB: Jared Whipkey
Most Dependable QB: Drew Weatherford
Most Improved WR: Joslin Shaw
Most Dependable WR: Greg Carr
Most Improved OL: Dumaka Atkins
Most Dependable OL: Mario Henderson
Most Improved RB: Joe Surratt
Most Dependable RB: Lorenzo Booker
Most Improved TE: Charlie Graham

Most Improved DE: Tyler Herrington
Most Dependable DE: Everette Brown
Most Improved DT: Kendrick Stewart
Most Dependable DT: Andre Fluellen
Most Improved LB: Geno Hayes
Most Dependable LB: Derek Nicholson
Most Improved DB: Korey Mangum
Most Dependable DB: Roger Williams

King of the Boards (Offense): Marcus Ford
Kind of the Boards (Defense): Paul Griffin
Top Non-Scholarship Player (Offense): Pat Davis
Top Non-Scholarship Player (Defense): Roosevelt Lawson
Big Otis Award: Geno Hayes
Second Effort (Offense): Mario Henderson
Second Effort (Defense): Andre Fluellen
Top Newcomer (Offense): Shannon Boatman
Top Newcomer (Defense): Myron Rolle
Big Hitter (Offense): Robert Hallback
Big Hitter (Defense): Lawrence Timmons
Iron Nole (Offense): David Overmyer
Iron Nole (Defense): Darius McClure
Leadership Award (Offense): Drew Weatherford
Leadership Award (Defense): Buster Davis
Most Committed to Physical Development: Jamie Robinson
Matt Schmauch Academic Achievement Award: Darrell Burston

Related Articles