May 18, 2008 - by
For Second Straight Year, FSU Opens 2008 ACC Baseball Championship Against Wake Forest on Wednesday

May 18, 2008

2008 ACC Baseball Championship Bracket in PDF Format

Tallahassee, Fla. – Second-seeded Florida State will open the 2008 ACC Baseball Tournament at the Baseball Grounds of Jacksonville in Jacksonville, Fla. on Wednesday, May 21 at 5:00 pm against No. 7 Wake Forest. The Seminoles claimed the Atlantic Division title for the second straight year as they finished the ACC regular season with a record of 24-6, tying last year’s mark for the most wins in league play.

A total of eight teams qualified to compete in the league championship for the third year in a row. The top two teams from both divisions, determined by conference winning percentage, and the next four teams with the best conference winning percentage regardless of division advanced to the postseason event.

For the second year in a row, the Baseball Championship will feature pool play competition as teams have been divided into two brackets with seeds #1, 4, 5 and 8 in bracket one and seeds #2, 3, 6 and 7 in bracket two. Each bracket will compete in round robin action through the first four days of the tournament with one day being marked as a rest day. The team with the best record in their respective brackets will advance to play in the championship final on Sunday, May 25 at 1:00 pm.

Florida State has been paired with No. 3 North Carolina (45-10, 22-7 ACC), No. 6 Virginia (36-19, 15-15 ACC) and No. 7 Wake Forest (24-29, 13-16 ACC) in its bracket. The Seminoles will open the tournament against the Demon Deacons on Wednesday for the second year in a row. Last year, the Seminoles defeated the Deacs 11-2 in Jacksonville for their only win of the championship. FSU will then take Thursday off before returning to action on Friday at 5:00 p.m. against Virginia. The Seminoles will wrap-up round robin action on Saturday, May 24 as they take on North Carolina at 5:00 p.m.

Tickets for the ACC Tournament can be purchased by logging on to the official ACC Baseball Championship web address located below or by contacting Jax Events ( at 904-630-3900 or calling Ticketmaster at 904-353-3309.

  • The official website of the ACC Baseball Championship!

    In addition, ISP Sports will be the national radio carrier of this year’s league tournament. All 13 contests will air on XM Radio and ISP’s national network of affiliates. In Tallahassee, fans will be able to listen in live over the radio on either 100.7 FM or 1270 the Team with Tom Block providing all the play-by-play action from the tournament.

    A complete listing of the 2008 ACC Baseball Championship is listed below:

    Wednesday, May 21
    G1: #4 NC State vs. #5 Georgia Tech – 10:00 a.m. (FSNS, SUN, CSMA)
    G2: #1 Miami vs. #8 Clemson – 1:00 p.m. (FSNS, SUN, CSMA)
    G3: #2 Florida State vs. #7 Wake Forest – 5:00 p.m. (Sports South, SunSports)
    G4: #3 North Carolina vs. #6 Virginia – 8:00 p.m. (SPSO, SUN)

    Thursday, May 22
    G5: #1 Miami vs. #5 Georgia Tech – 5:00 p.m. (FSNS, SUN)
    G6: #4 NC State vs. #8 Clemson – 8:00 p.m. (FSNS, SUN, CSMA)

    Friday, May 23
    G7: #2 Florida State vs. #6 Virginia – 5:00 p.m. (SunSports, SPSO, NESN)
    G8: #3 North Carolina vs. #7 Wake Forest – 8:00 p.m. (SPSO, CSMA)

    Saturday, May 24
    G9: #5 Georgia Tech vs. #8 Clemson – 10:00 a.m. (SPSO, FSNFL, CSMA)
    G10: #1 Miami vs. #4 NC State – 1:00 p.m. (SPSO, FSNFL, CSMA)
    G11: #2 Florida State vs. #3 North Carolina – 5:00 p.m. (SPSO, SunSports, NESN)
    G12: #6 Virginia vs. #7 Wake Forest – 8:00 p.m. (SPSO, SUN)

    Sunday, May 25
    G13: Championship Game – 1:00 p.m. (FSNS, SunSports, CSMA)

    TV KEY: FSNS – Fox Sports Net South; FSNFL – Fox Sports Net Florida; SUN – SunSports; CSMA – Comcast Sports Mid-Atlantic; NESN – New England Sports Network; SPSO – Sports South.

  • Related Articles