November 5, 2004 - by
Former Seminole Mientkiewicz Earns World Series Ring With Red Sox

Nov. 5, 2004

Former Seminole baseball player Doug Mientkiewicz became the sixth person to attend Florida State and earn a World Championship Ring when his Red Sox defeated FSU Law School Graduate Tony LaRussa’s St. Louis Cardinals to give Boston its first world championship since 1918. Mientkiewicz joined LaRussa (who led the Oakland Athletics to the 1989 world championship), Johnny Grub (1984 Detroit Tigers), Paul Sorrento (1991 Minnesota Twins), Larry Rotshchild (1997 Florida Marlins as their pitching coach) and Randy Choate (2000 New York Yankees) as baseball world champion Seminoles.

Mientkiewicz was traded to the Red Sox from the Minnesota Twins at the trade deadline earlier this season. He was picked up for his defensive play at first base and his left handed bat. He was a standout player during three seasons as a Seminole. He is the only player to have led the Seminoles in hitting three straight seasons and was named to the NCAA College World Series All Decade team for the 1990’s. Additionally, he and won a gold medal with Team USA in 1994.

Tony LaRussa, the manager of the St. Louis Cardinals, graduated from the Florida State’s College of Law in 1978. He is one of only five lawyer/managers in Major League Baseball history. LaRussa is seventh all-time in career wins with 2009 and has been the recipient of the prestigious Manager of the Year Award five different times during his career. He has won three American League pennants, one National League pennant, and one World Series championship with the Oakland Athletics in 1990.

The following is a list of players who have played baseball at Florida State and played in the World Series.

Player             Year   Team
Woody Woodward 1970 Cincinnati Reds
Johnny Grub 1984 Detroit Tigers (world champions)
Terry Kennedy 1984 San Diego Padres
1989 San Francisco Giants
Paul Sorrento 1991 Minnesota Twins (world champions)
Deion Sanders 1992 Atlanta Braves
Larry Rotshchild 1997 Florida Marlins (pitching coach) (world champions)
Randy Choate 2000/2001/2003 New York Yankees (world champions in 2000)
Doug Mientkiewicz 2004 Boston Red Sox (world champions)

By Steve Bartek
Sports Information Student Assistant
Related Articles