May 31, 2017 - by
Four Seminoles Earn NFCA All-American Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – After a season that saw the Seminoles earn their first No. 1 national ranking, their fourth consecutive ACC Championship and fifth-straight appearance in the NCAA Super Regionals, Florida State softball was honored with four NFCA All-American selections, as announced by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association on Wednesday.

Junior Jessie Warren and redshirt senior Jessica Burroughs were named to the First Team, junior Morgan Klaeveman earned a spot on the Second Team, while redshirt Alex Powers was selected to the Third Team. It is the second season in a row that the trio of Warren, Burroughs and Powers have earned All-American honors, while Klaevemann receives the national accolade for the first time in her career.

The Noles tied Arizona and Florida for the most honorees in the nation, and were one of six schools to have multiple First Team members. It is the first time in the fastpitch era of Florida State Softball that the Noles have had four NFCA All-Americans and FSU has had 12 total All-Americans in the nine seasons under head coach Lonni Alameda.

Klaevemann becomes just the second FSU Softball student-athlete, joining Brandi Stuart (2002), to be an athletic and academic All-American in the same season as the outfielder was recognized by CoSIDA earlier this month.

“I am really proud of this group of players, but their successes were all based on our entire team’s success throughout the season,” said FSU head coach Lonni Alameda. “They would be the first to tell you that they wouldn’t be able to drive in runs if players ahead in the lineup didn’t get on base, or have quality pitches to hit if players behind them in the lineup weren’t also dangerous. Pitchers wouldn’t be confident if they couldn’t depend on the defense behind them and they all build on each other. I’m excited to see them recognized for their work and how they’ve helped develop this program throughout their careers.”

Four Seminoles Earn NFCA All-American Honors

Warren recorded an amazing junior season in 2017, leading the ACC in seven different categories, with 23 home runs, 68 RBI, 61 runs scored and a .922 slugging percentage, as she earned 2017 ACC Player of the Year honors. She ranked in the top 10 nationally in home runs, RBI and slugging and was one of 10 finalists for the 2017 USA Softball Collegiate Softball Player of the Year.

Burroughs wrapped up her career at Florida State with a 27-5 record and a 1.22 ERA, along with 266 strikeouts over 195.0 innings. Her four saves in 2017 and nine for her career tied the FSU records in both categories. She ranked in the top 15 in the country in ERA, hits allowed, strikeouts and wins. Burroughs earned ACC Pitcher of the Year honors for the second season in a row, continuing the streak to four consecutive years where a Seminole pitcher received the conference’s top pitching honor.

Klaevemann provided the spark at the top of the Florida State lineup, posting a batting average of .410 with 68 hits, four doubles, two triples, 25 walks and 52 runs scored. She also led the team with 36 stolen bases on her way to receiving All-ACC First Team honors for the third year in a row.

Powers rounded out an impressive career in the Garnet and Gold, ranking second on the team with 68 hits, 54 runs scored, 10 home runs and 51 RBI. Her 19 doubles tied the FSU single-season record, allowing her to break the career mark in the category with 51. She finishes her time at FSU ranked in the top 10 in six career and six single-season categories.

Warren and Klaevemann will return to Florida State in 2018, marking the third time in the last four seasons that the Noles will bring back multiple All-Americans. Powers and Burroughs were both drafted by the USSSA Pride of the National Pro Fastpitch league and will be playing throughout the country this summer among some of the best softball players in the world.

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

Four Seminoles Earn NFCA All-American Honors

2017 NFCA All-Americans
First Team
P, Kelly Barnhill, Florida
P, Sarah Groenewegen, Minnesota
P, Danielle O’Toole, Arizona
C, Kendyl Lindaman, Minnesota
1B, Jessie Harper, Arizona
2B, Hannah Flippen, Utah
3B, Jessie Warren, Florida State
SS, DJ Sanders, Louisiana
OF, Bailey Landry, LSU
OF, Aleah Craighton, Louisiana
OF, Amanda Lorenz, Florida
UT/P, Megan Good, James Madison
DP or UT/Non-P, Sahvanna Jaquish, LSU
At Large/SS, Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
At Large/P, Jessica Burroughs, Florida State
At Large/P, Alexis Osorio, Alabama
At Large, Delanie Gourley, Florida
At Large, Nikki Udria, Oregon

Second Team
P, Megan Betsa, Michigan
P, Megan Kleist, Oregon
P, Randi Rupp, Texas State
C, Jenavee Peres, San Diego State
1B, Shay Knighten, Oklahoma
2B, Caleigh Clifton, Oklahoma
3B, Katiyana Mauga, Arizona
SS, Morgan Zerkle, Marshall
OF, Lea Foerster, Michigan State
OF, Morgan Klaevemann, Florida State
OF, Kelly Christner, Michigan
UT/P, Sierra Hyland, Cal Poly
DP or UT/Non-P, Kendra Lynch, North Carolina
At Large/UT/P, Rachel Garcia, UCLA
At Large/P, Paige Parker, Oklahoma
At Large/SS, Mo Mercado, Arizona
At Large/3B, Lindsey Cargill, Baylor
At Large/P, Emily Watson, Tulsa

Third Team
P, Allie Walljasper, LSU
P, Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
P, McKenna Bull, BYU
P, Jordan Dixon, Marshall
C, Chloe Miller, Wisconsin
1B, Alex Powers, Florida State
2B, Faith Canfield, Michigan
3B, Riley Sartain, Texas A&M
SS, Lilli Piper, Ohio State
OF, Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF, Nicole Evans, Illinois
OF, Danica Mercado, Oregon
UT/P, Sydney O’Hara, Syracuse
DP or UT/Non-P, Vanessa Shippy, Oklahoma State
At Large/SS, Emily Lochten, FAU
At Large/1B, Kayli Kvistad, Florida
At Large/SS, Katie Reed, Kentucky
At Large/1B, Jessica Twaddle, Murray State
At Large/SS, Ali Aguilar, Washington

Related Articles