July 22, 2016 - by
Four Seminoles Named ITA Scholar-Athletes

Tallahassee, Fla. – Four women’s tennis players were named ITA Scholar-Athletes for their work in the classroom, including three-time honoree Daneika Borthwick. Joining Borthwick are two-time winners Kathryn Phillips and Daniela Schippers and first-time honoree Lana Rush.

In addition to the four players selected, the Seminoles as a team were named a 2016 All-Academic Team.

For an individual to be named to a Scholar-Athlete, she must have a 3.5 GPA for the current academic year and be enrolled for at least two semesters. For the team honor, the cumulative GPA must be a 3.2 or higher.

This is the sixth-consecutive year that the Seminoles have earned the team honor, and the ninth time since head coach Jennifer Hyde took over the program in 2005.

Borthwick earned the Scholar-Athlete honor each of her final three years at Florida State. The Cumbria, England, native earned her bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in sport management with a 3.84 GPA.

Phillips and Schippers each were named Scholar-Athletes for a second time, while Rush earned the honor for a first time.

For more information on the FSU women’s tennis team, check Seminoles.com for the latest results and scheduling information, or keep up with the team on social media through Twitter (@FSU_WTennis), Facebook (/FSU.WTennis), and Instagram (@FSU_WTennis).

Related Articles