February 13, 2007 - by
Four Seminoles Named To 2006 All-ACC Academic Football Team

Feb. 13, 2007

Greensboro, NC –
Four Seminoles were named to the 2006 All-ACC Academic Football Team on Tuesday. Graham Gano, Myron Rolle, Antone Smith and Drew Weatherford were among 37 athletes who earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Nine players who earned first, second-team, or honorable mention All-Conference honors this past season secured spots on the 37-member 2006 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Football Team, as announced today by

Players earning first or second-team All-ACC honors this past fall were Boston College’s Josh Beekmen and James Marten, Miami’s Greg Olsen and Kenny Phillips, Virginia Tech’s Brandon Pace and Maryland’s Adam Podlesh. Clemson’s Thomas Hunter, Florida State’s Myron Rolle and Maryland’s Josh Wilson were honorable mention selections.

In addition, Beekman was a first-team All-America selection by The Associated Press and a second-team choice by The Sporting News, College Football News and Walter Camp. Miami’s Jason Fox and Darryl Sharpton and Florida State’s Rolle earned first-team Freshman All-America recognition this past fall.

Virginia Tech’s Brandon Pace made 22 consecutive field goals over the 2005 and 2006 seasons – the second-longest streak in ACC history – and finished his career as the league’s all-time leader in field accuracy making 58 of 68 career attempts (.853). Florida State’s Drew Weatherford threw for 2,113 yards and 12 touchdowns in 2006 and is second, only to former NC State standout Philip Rivers, among ACC sophomore passing yardage leaders with 5,362 yards.

Maryland’s Adam Podlesh, who finished his career ninth on the ACC career punting list with a 43.13 average and a four-time academic team selection, heads up a list of 18 players that are repeaters from last year’s academic team, including four players – Georgia Tech’s Travis Bell, Duke’s Eli Nichols, Virginia Tech’s Pace and Miami’s Jon Peatte – who earned berths on the academic team for a third-straight year.

The 2006 All-ACC Academic Football team is as follows:

2006 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Football Team

Player School Class Pos. Major Larry Anam Boston College Sr. DB Administrative Studies S. Aponavicius Boston College So. PK Undeclared Patrick Bailey Duke Jr. DL Electrical & Computer Engineering Andrew Bain Miami Jr. OL Psychology Josh Beekman Boston College Sr. OL Administrative Studies Travis Bell Georgia Tech Jr. PK Management Joe Dailey North Carolina Jr. QB African-American History Alex Feinberg Duke Sr. P History Jason Fox Miami Fr. OL Marketing Louis Frazier Wake Forest Jr. OL Biology Graham Gano Florida State So. P Business Ty Hall Boston College Jr. OL Marketing Thomas Hunter Clemson Sr. TE Biological Studies Nick Larkin Boston College Jr. DL Human Development William Lee NC State Gr. LS Mechanical Engineering James Marten Boston College Sr. OL Administrative Studies Zach Maurides Duke Sr. OL Sociology Eli Nichols Duke Gr. DL Engineering Management Greg Olsen Miami Jr. TE Criminology Brandon Pace Virginia Tech Sr. PK Heath & Physical Education Alex Pearson Clemson Jr. FB Marketing Jon Peatte Miami Sr. PK Masters in International Studies Kenny Phillips Miami So. DB Sports Administration Adam Podlesh Maryland Sr. P Business-Marketing Darryl Richard Georgia Tech So. DL Management Myron Rolle Florida State Fr. DB Biology - Pre-Med. Matt Rumsey Duke Jr. OL Political Science Tom Santi Virginia Jr. TE Sociology Zac Selmon Wake Forest Jr. TE Religion Darryl Sharpton Miami So. LB Finance Sam Shields Miami Fr. WR Education Antone Smith Florida State So. RB Sport Management Nick Stefanow Duke Jr. TE Psychology Kevin Tuminello Georgia Tech Jr. OL Building Construction D. Weatherford Florida State So. QB Business - Finance Josh Wilson Maryland Sr. DB Business-Marketing A. Wollschlager Miami Sr. OL Masters in Business Administration

Related Articles