September 17, 2002 - by
Four Seminoles Named to ACC 50th Anniversary Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Team

Sept. 17, 2002

Riley (1993-1996) was the 1995 NCAA indoor national hurdles champion. He was an All-American in the outdoor hurdles and 4X100 relay team during the 1996 campaign. Riley was also the outdoor ACC champion in the 110m hurdles in 1994 and 1996. He earned All-ACC honors in 1994 and 1996 and was named to the 1994 and 1995 All-American team in the 55m hurdles. In addition, he was named to the 1994 All-ACC team.

Bray(1990-1993) was the only other Seminole to be named to the indoor team. His accomplishments include the 1992 and 1993 ACC championship in pole vault. Bray was named to the All-ACC team in 1992 and 1993 and was selected as an All-American in the pole vault in 1993.

Carter (1993-1996) was a six time All-American. He was an All-American in the 100m dash in 1995 and 1996. He also received 200m All-America honors in 1996. Carter was a three time All-American in 1993, 1994 and 1996 as a member of the 4 X 100 relay team. Furthermore, he was the 100m dash outdoor champion in 1994 along with being named to the All-ACC team the same year.

Allen (2000-2001) was the outdoor ACC champion in the long jump during 2000 and 2001, as well as the 2001 ACC outdoor triple jump champion. Allen was named the ACC Outdoor Meet Most Outstanding Performer following first place finishes in the long and triple jump and earned NCAA provisional qualifying mark (long jump) at FSU Relays. Allen was also named the ACC outdoor event MVP during his senior season. He earned All-ACC honors in 2000 and 2001.

The 50 member indoor team and 52 member outdoor team was voted on by the nine league institutions as decided by the leagues 50th Anniversary Committee. Clemson led the ACC with 19 members on the Golden Anniversary Team. Georgia Tech and North Carolina each had 17 inductees. Maryland followed with 15 members, while Duke had 10, Virginia eight, NC State seven, Wake Forest and Florida State with four.

Related Articles