July 22, 2004 - by
Four Seminoles Named to Maxwell and Bednarik Watch Lists

July 22, 2004

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. – Senior quarterback Chris Rix and senior wide receiver Craphonso Thorpe were two of 40 players named to the Maxwell Award watch list while senior defensive end Eric Moore and junior linebacker A.J. Nicholson were two of 30 named to the Bednarik Award watch list. The Maxwell is given to the nation’s top collegiate player on offense while the Bednarik is awarded to the nation’s top defender. Florida State and Southern California were the only two schools to have two players on each watch list.

Virginia defensive end Chris Canty, NC State defensive back Andre Maddox and Clemson defensive back Justin Miller joined Nicholson and Moore among the ACC players on the Bednarik watch list. Miami running back Frank Gore, Virginia linebacker Wali Lundy, NC State tailback T.A. McClendon, Virginia tight end Heath Miller, Virginia Tech quarterback Bryan Randall and Clemson quarterback Charlie Whitehurst represented the ACC along with Rix and Thorpe on the Maxwell Award watch list.

The complete Maxwell Award watch list and Bednarik Award watch list can be found on www.maxwellfootballclub.org.

Related Articles