December 23, 2004 - by
Four Seminoles Named to NFL Pro Bowl

Dec. 23, 2004

New York –
Four former Florida State football players were first-team selections to the Pro Bowl the NFL announced on Thursday.

Tampa Bay Buccaneer linebacker Derrick Brooks, who was a two-time consensus All-American at Florida State and is a current member of the Board of Trustees, entered rare company by earning his eighth consecutive trip to the Pro Bowl. Brooks joins just four other NFL greats – Jack Lambert, Lawrence Taylor, Mike Singletary and Reggie White – who have won Defensive Player of the Year, a Super Bowl and made eight consecutive Pro Bowl teams.

A pair of former FSU offensive tackles made the elite list. Seattle Seahawk Walter Jones will make his fourth consecutive trip to Hawaii and the fifth of his career. Philadelphia Eagle Tra Thomas will make his third straight start in the Pro Bowl.

Green Bay Packer star Javon Walker is second in the NFL in receptions (81) and receiving yardage (1,210). He was a standout at Florida State earning Gator Bowl MVP honors in his final game at FSU, a win over Virginia Tech in the 2001.

Related Articles