November 29, 2016 - by
Francois Voted ACC Rookie of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt freshman quarterback Deondre Francois is the 2016 Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie and Offensive Rookie of the Year, the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association announced Tuesday afternoon. Francois was named the top overall rookie by 25 of the 48 ACSMA voters, and got 30 of 48 votes for the offensive award.

Francois beat out Clemson’s Dexter Lawrence, the Defensive Rookie of the Year, and Duke quarterback Daniel Jones for the league’s top rookie award.

Francois led Florida State to a 9-3 record this season, completing 226 of 373 passes with 18 touchdowns and six interceptions. He is the only freshman in the country with 3,000 passing yards this season, finishing the regular season with 3,128 yards (260.7 per game). The mobile quarterback from Orlando showed flashes on the ground as well, finishing with four rushing touchdowns.

In his debut against Ole Miss in September, Francois led FSU to its largest comeback win in school history, erasing a 28-6 Rebel lead en route to a 45-34 Seminole win. He had 419 passing yards and 478 total yards against the Rebels, the seventh-most total yards in a game in Seminole history.

Francois had five 300-yard passing games in 2016, and had three touchdown passes against Charleston Southern and Boston College. The five 300-yard passing games are the second-most in school history for a freshman, trailing only Jameis Winston’s seven games of 300 or more in 2013.

Since joining the league in 1992, five Seminoles have now won the ACC Rookie of the Year award: Tamarick Vanover (1992), Travis Minor (1997), Chris Rix (2001), Winston (2013) and Francois (2016). Francois and Winston were both also ACC Offensive Rookies of the Year, first awarded in 2010.

2016 ACC Rookie of the Year

Deondre Francois, FSU – 25
Dexter Lawrence, Clemson – 7
Daniel Jones, Duke – 7
Ahmmon Richards, Miami – 3
Jessie Bates, Wake Forest – 3
Dedrick Mills, Ga. Tech – 2
Joe Giles-Harris, Duke – 1

2016 ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year

Deondre Francois, FSU – 30
Daniel Jones, Duke – 8
Ahmmon Richards, Miami – 8
Dedrick Mills, Ga. Tech – 2

Francois Voted ACC Rookie of the Year
Related Articles