September 29, 2014 - by
FSU Baseball Recruiting Class Ranked No. 20

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State Baseball’s 2014-15 recruiting class garnered a top 25 ranking as announced by Collegiate Baseball’s annual evaluation of NCAA Division I baseball classes. The Seminoles’ incoming class checked in at No. 20.

The rankings are based on players who enroll at each school during the fall semester. Athletes who initially signed with a school and then signed a pro contract after being selected in the MLB Draft do not count in the overall evaluation.

The Seminoles welcome 17 newcomers to this year’s recruiting class including 11 freshmen, five JUCO transfers and one transfer from a four-year institution. The class is made up of seven pitchers (including two left handers), six infielders, one outfielder, one catcher and two utility players (listed on the roster at two or more positions including pitcher and catcher).

“With the departures we suffered last year due to graduation and the draft, we see this class being able to step in and contribute right away because of the versatility and athleticism that each player possesses,” Florida State assistant coach and recruiting coordinator Mike Martin, Jr. said. “The ability of the pitchers to pitch in different roles will also be a key to our success and we feel that the crop of arms that we brought in will be able to do just that.”

Cobi Johnson, a right handed pitcher who attended JW Mitchell High School, was selected in the 35th round of the 2014 MLB Draft by the San Diego Padres. Chris Marconcini transferred to Florida State with one year of eligibility remaining after earning his bachelor’s degree from Duke University this past spring.

The five Junior College transfers in this year’s class include Boomer Biegalski (RHP, Central Florida State College); Alex Deise (LHP, St. Petersburg College); Hayden Kelly (1B, Polk State College); Quincy Nieporte (1B/C Tallahassee Community College); and Derek Vail (Santa Fe College).

The remaining members of the 2014-15 recruiting class include Dylan Busby (SS, Sarasota HS); Drew Carlton (RHP, George Jenkins HS); Timmy Delph (OF, Bartow HS); Taylor Folsom (LHP, Tiftarea Academy); Andrew Karp (RHP, West Orange HS); Bret Maxwell (C, Northeast HS); Darren Miller (INF/C, Key West HS); Jackson Owens (INF, Lake Dallas HS); Taylor Walls (SS, Crisp County HS); and Steven Wells (OF/RHP, Key West HS).

“We knew we were going to lose a lot from last year’s team and that was the key to this year’s class – to get guys in here that can contribute in a variety of ways,” added Martin, Jr. “You always want to have a good balance of old and new players when it comes to having both JUCO and freshmen on the team. Having a handful of JUCO guys that have been through the rigors is very important especially having a guy like Marconcini, who played a lot in three seasons at Duke. We hope that with their experiences mixed with our returners that it will help bridge the learning gap for our incoming freshmen.”

The fall Garnet and Gold game will be held Wednesday, October 15 and Thursday, October 16 at 3 p.m. and 6 p.m., respectively, on Mike Martin Field inside Dick Howser Stadium. The veteran pitchers will throw on Wednesday with the newcomers pitching on Thursday. The Seminoles will then host the Ontario Blue Jays for the third year in a row as that game will take place on Monday, October 20 at 3 p.m. in the final scrimmage of the fall season.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on the Florida State Baseball team. As always fans are encouraged to follow the Noles on Twitter at @FSU_Baseball and remember to like the Seminoles on Facebook ( and on Instagram (NoleBaseball).

2014-15 Collegiate Baseball Recruiting Class Rankings
1. Louisiana St.
2. Wichita St.
3. Florida
4. San Diego
5. Oklahoma St. 
6. Mississippi St.
7. Texas
8. Stanford
9. Virginia
10. Cal. St. Fullerton
11. North Carolina
12. Oregon St.
13. Texas Tech
14. Kentucky
15. Mississippi
16. Arkansas
17. UCLA
18. Long Beach St.
19. Oregon
t20. Florida St. 
t20. Miami, Fla.
22. Texas Christian
23. Rice
24. South Carolina
25. Vanderbilt
26. Louisville
27. Arizona St. 
28. Arizona
29. Florida International 
30. Michigan
31. Missouri
32. San Diego St. 
33. Houston
34. Tennessee
35. Clemson
36. Duke
37. Stetson
38. Florida Gulf Coast
39. California 
t40. Texas A&M
t40. Auburn                     


Related Articles