April 30, 2017 - by
FSU Claims No. 4 Seed at NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State beach volleyball team captured the No. 4 seed and will compete against seven of the nation’s top teams at the 2017 NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship in Gulf Shores, Ala., this weekend, the NCAA announced on Sunday night.The Seminoles will be competing in their sixth consecutive national championship event from Friday through Sunday. FSU finished runner-up at the first NCAA Championship in 2016 and advanced to the AVCA national tournament from 2012-2015.

“I am really proud to make the NCAA Tournament,” Florida State head coach Brooke Niles said. “It was one of our goals in the beginning of the year. First, we wanted to just make it there and now we want to make it to the national championship game. The team is really excited and we are just ready to get started.”

FSU will open the championship against fifth-seeded Hawaii (26-5) at 10 a.m. CT on Friday.  The Seminoles and SandBows faced off once in 2017, with the Seminoles picking up the victory. The other six teams included in the eight-team field are No. 1 Southern California, No. 2 UCLA, No. 3 Pepperdine, No. 6 Long Beach State, No. 7 LSU and No. 8 South Carolina.

FSU finished the regular season 27-7 and ranked in the top four of the AVCA Beach Volleyball rankings all season long. The Seminoles captured the Coastal Collegiate Sports Association conference title in Emerson, Ga., for the second straight year two weeks ago, outscoring the competition 24-4 over six matches.

The Seminoles, who faced top competition all season long, went 20-7 against ranked foes as 11 of those 20 victories came against schools ranked in the top 10. FSU also posted an impressive 21-6 record away from home in 2017, including a 17-5 mark on neutral sand.

FSU has faced all seven of the schools selected to compete in Gulf Shores this weekend, going 7-7 against those teams.

The Seminoles are quite familiar with the beach at Gulf Shores having played in all five AVCA/NCAA National Championship events from 2012 to 2016. Florida State, along with Pepperdine, were the only two schools to play for the national championship in each of those five seasons. The Garnet & Gold finished as the national runner-up in 2014 and 2016, while recording back-to-back top three finishes in 2012 and 2013.


FSU Claims No. 4 Seed at NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship


The 2017 NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship will feature a double elimination, bracket play tournament with the two remaining schools playing a winner-take-all match on Sunday at 2:00 p.m. ET

The NCAA also announced that Turner networks will televise all three days of the championship, with truTV providing live coverage on Friday and Saturday from 3-6 p.m. ET, while TBS will air the championship round on Sunday.

Live streaming coverage of every court in each match of the tournament will be available on NCAA.com. In addition, the full television broadcast will be available on Turner’s TV Everywhere platforms including the Watch TBS and Watch truTV apps.

Stay tuned to Seminoles.com throughout the week for more information on the NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship. As always, fans can also follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_BeachVB), Facebook (/FSUBeachVB) and on Instagram (FSUBeachVolleyball) for continued updates on team.

2017 NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship

Tournament Schedule

Friday, May 5

Match 1 – Southern Cal vs. South Carolina, 9 a.m. CT

Match 2 – Florida State vs. Hawaii, 10 a.m. CT

Match 3 – Pepperdine vs. Long Beach State, 11 a.m. CT

Match 4 – LSU vs. UCLA, 12 p.m. CT

Match 5 – Loser of Match 1 vs. Loser of Match 2, 1 p.m. CT

Match 6 – Loser of Match 3 vs. Loser of Match 4, 2 p.m. CT

Match 7 – Winner of Match 1 vs. Winner of Match 2, 3 p.m. CT

Match 8 – Winner of Match 3 vs. Winner of Match 4, 4 p.m. CT

Saturday, May 6

Match 9 – Winner of Match 5 vs. Loser of Match 8, 2:10 p.m. CT

Match 10 – Winner of Match 6 vs. Loser of March 7, 1 p.m. CT

Match 11 – Winner of Match 7 vs. Winner of Match 8, 3 p.m. CT

Match 12 – Winner of Match 9 vs. Winner of Match 10, 4 p.m. CT

Sunday, May 7

Match 13 – Winner of Match 12 vs. Loser of Match 11, 10:00 a.m. CT

Match 14 – National Championship Final, 1:00 p.m. CT – TV: TBS

Related Articles