September 16, 2000 - by
FSU Cross Country Teams In Top Ten At Crimson Classic

Sept. 16, 2000

TUSCALOOSA, Ala., – The Florida State men’s and women’s cross
country teams finished in the top 10 at the Crimson Classic on Saturday,
Sept. 16. Competing with over 30 teams, and against many nationally-ranked
programs, the women took second place, finishing only three points behind
perennially nationally-ranked South Florida. The men finished sixth
overall, just 20 points behind South Florida.

Amy Plekaitis, in just her second collegiate race, finished in the
top five leading the Lady Noles to their second-place victory. Plekaitis
finished third overall with a time of 17:35. Coming in second for the
Seminoles was junior Brooke Bastien with a 7th-place finish with a time of
17:59. Sophomore Katie Jeffrey finished the competition in 15th place with
a time of 18:05:59, while senior Cynthia Campbell finished only tenths of a
second behind Jeffrey to take 16th-place, with a time of 18:05:91.
Sophomore Kimm Winn finished fifth for the Lady Noles, and 17th overall,
with a time of 18:09.

“This was a huge step for our women’s cross country teams, and
probably their best meet ever,” said head coach Bob Braman. “Coming in right
behind South Florida and ahead of other nationally-ranked teams proved to this
team that they have reached the national competitive level.”

On the men’s side, sophomore Nick Stuart was once again the leader
finishing first for the Seminoles and 22nd overall with a time of 24:57.
Ryan Hicks finished as FSU’s second fastest runner of the day with a time
of 25:13 for 33rd overall. Next was Danny Fritz in 40th place with a time
of 25:19, while Tommy Kunish finished 43rd with a time of 25:27. Senior
Josh ware was unable to compete in the meet due to a lower leg injury.

“Having to keep Josh (Ware) out of the competition probably hurt
us,” said Braman. “We would rather be cautious now and give him time to
however, overall the men still competed quite well.”

The next competition for the two teams will be on October 6, 2000,
at the Notre Dame Invitational in South Bend, Indiana.

Related Articles