November 2, 2002 - by
FSU Men Fifth, Women Sixth, At ACC Cross Country Championships

Nov. 2, 2002

The Florida State men’s cross country team finished fifth at the 2002 Atlantic Coast Conference Championship Saturday afternoon in Atlanta, with the women’s squad placing sixth. The Lady Seminoles’ Vicky Gill finished second, only 12 seconds behind the champion, to earn All-ACC honors. Joep Tigchelaar also picked up All-ACC honors for the men, finishing seventh to lead the Tribe.

Finishing behind Tigchelaar for the men in 25th and 26th-place was Maarten Van Den Heuvel and Nathan Adams, respectively. The final two scorers for the Seminoles were Zack Heissner (30th) and Dave Guerra (35th).

Rounding out the scorers for the Lady Seminoles were Natalie Hughes (19th place), Allison Lind (32nd), Missy Harper (36th), Anne Clinton (49th) and Jenny Gomez (50th).

The NC State men’s cross country team won its second consecutive ACC title, as the Wolfpack posted a score of 17 points. With the victory, NC State has now won seven of the last eight men’s championships. Duke, who placed second with 69 points, followed the Wolfpack. Virginia finished third with 95 points, while Clemson was fourth with 103 points. Florida State (Fifth * 123 points), Wake Forest (Sixth * 148), North Carolina (Seventh * 187), Maryland (Eighth * 219) and Georgia Tech (Ninth * 243) rounded out the field.

For the first time in Atlantic Coast Conference history two teams will share the women’s cross country team title, as NC State and Wake Forest tied with 61 points. With the split championship, NC State claims its 20th league title, while Wake Forest earns its first ACC crown. Virginia tallied 78 points to place third, followed by Duke (Fourth * 81 points), North Carolina (Fifth * 88) and Florida State (Sixth * 134). Maryland (Seventh * 203), Georgia Tech (Eighth * 214) and Clemson (284 * Ninth) rounded out the field.

The Seminoles will return to action on Nov. 16, when they travel to Knoxville, Tenn., to compete in the NCAA South Region Championships.

FSU Men Results
Place	Name			Time		Points
7	Joep Tigchelaar		24:48.7	7
25 	Maaren Van Den Heuvel	25:35.5	25
26 	Nathan Adams		25:36.5	26
30	Zach Heissner		25:45.4	30
35	Dave Guerra			26:00.1	35
37	Kevin Cook		26:03.4	37
41	Giscard Titus		26:17.1	41
61	Andrew Bautel		27:33.7

FSU Women Results Place Name Time Points 2 Vicky Gill 20:18.5 2 19 Natalie Hughes 21:47.7 19 32 Allison Lind 22:22.7 32 36 Misty Harper 22:33.8 35 49 Anne Clinton 23:44.5 46 50 Jenny Gomez 23:46.8 47 58 Laura Melendez 24:40.5 54 61 Abbie Day 25:07.7

Related Articles