February 16, 2002 - by
FSU Men Finish Second, Women Fifth At ACC Indoor Championship

Feb. 16, 2002

Complete Results

The Florida State men’s indoor track and field team placed second at the 2002 ACC Championship Saturday afternoon in Chapel Hill, N.C., marking the team’s best finish since winning the conference crown in 1994. The Seminoles were led by junior Jeff Atkinson who won the pole vault with a season-best and NCAA provisional height of 17’03.5″, and Mario Lowe who won the triple jump with a mark of 49’11”. The men finished the day with 95 points, 37 points behind champion Clemson (132). The Lady Seminoles, led by junior Kim Jones’ title in the 60-meter hurdles with a season-best and provisional time of 8.36, finished fifth overall with 63 points. Jones also won the long jump title on Friday.

The men began the day by picking up 13 points in the weight throw. Senior B.J. Linnenbrink finished second with a NCAA provisional toss of 66’01.75″. Following Linnenbrink in fifth place was Josh Bowling with a mark of 59’06.75″ and Ryan O’Donnell in eighth place with a toss of 56’05.75″.

An additional 13 points were earned in the pole vault, as junior Gary Visser followed Atkinson’s title vault with a sixth-place finish at 15’05”.

Senior Shawn Brown finished third for the Seminoles in the high jump. Brown cleared a provisional height of 7’01.75″.

Junior Maarten van den Heuvel placed second in the 800-meter run at 1:53.42. Senior Michael Jennings and junior Cedric Robinson teamed up in the 200m and 400m dashes to earn the Seminoles valuable team points. In the 200m, Jennings placed third (21.79) with Robinson on his heels in fourth place (21.87). Roles were reversed in the 400m, as Robinson placed fifth (48.54), ahead of Jennings who finished in seventh place (48.76).

Junior sprinter Danyne Brown took home a sixth-place finish in the 60m dash at 8.28. The FSU sprinters ended the day with a fourth-place run in the 4×400-meter relay. Sophomores Anesu Mushonga and Sean Campbell, freshman Craphonso Thorpe and junior Dave Johnson crossed the finish line at 3:19.79.

In addition to Jones’ title, the Lady Seminoles scored in three other events on Saturday. Freshman Natalie Hughes placed second in the mile run with a provisional time of 4:46.54. Sophomore Amanda Kinney finished third overall in the shot put with a toss of 48’02.5″. The Lady Seminoles’ 4×400 relay team of sophomore Tamara Campbell and seniors Shauna Quinn, Nekeya Crutchfield and Laura Gerber crossed the finish line in fourth place with a time of 3:49.7.

Clemson’s men won their sixth-consecutive ACC Indoor crown, while Georgia Tech’s women won their first ever title with 122 points. For the record, FSU’s men won two events and passed three NCAA provisional marks. The Lady Seminoles won three events, set one NCAA automatic mark and three provisional marks.

Florida State will return to action on February 26-27 when they travel to Blacksburg, Va. to compete at the Virginia Tech Last Chance meet.

Related Articles