October 29, 2011 - by
FSU No. 14 in AP Poll

Oct. 29, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – For the fifth consecutive year the Florida State women’s basketball team opened the season ranked in the Associated Press preseason women’s basketball poll, capturing the No. 14 spot in the 2011-12 edition released Saturday.

The Seminoles, who have advanced to seven consecutive NCAA Tournaments, opened the season at No. 18 in 2010-11, No. 13 in 2009-10, No. 21 in 2008-09 and No. 19 in 2007-08 in the AP poll.

FSU was one of five ACC schools in the preseason poll, joining No. 7 Miami, No. 8 Duke, No. 11 Maryland and No. 20 North Carolina. The Noles will face both the Hurricanes and Blue Devils twice this season and will host the Terrapins and Tar Heels at home. The Garnet and Gold are also slated to host preseason No. 9 Louisville on Nov. 25 and will travel to Ohio State on Nov. 30 as part of the Big Ten/ACC Challenge. The Buckeyes just missed the AP Top 25, receiving the 26th most votes from the nationwide panel.

Florida State returns three starters, including honorable mention All-America post Cierra Bravard, from a 24-8 squad that finished at No. 15 in the final AP poll of 2010-11.

Led by Bravard, the Noles were picked to finish fourth in the ACC this season, behind Miami, Duke and Maryland. The 6-4 Sandusky, Ohio, native has been named to the Wooden Award and Wade Award Watch Lists as well as the Sporting News’ Preseason All-America First Team and the Preseason All-ACC First Team.

Among college basketball preview magazines, the Noles were ranked No. 14 by Sporting News and No. 19 in the Athlon Sports College Basketball Preview.

For more information on the Florida State women’s basketball team, follow the Seminoles on twitter at: @FSU_WBasketball.

AP Preseason Top 25 Poll (10-29-11)

1. Baylor (33)

2. Notre Dame (6)

3. Tennessee

4. Connecticut

5. Stanford

6. Texas A&M (1)

7. Miami (FL)

8. Duke

9. Louisville

10. Georgetown

11. Maryland

12. Penn State

13. Georgia

14. Florida State

15. Oklahoma

16. Rutgers

17. Purdue

18. Kentucky

19. DePaul

20. North Carolina

21. LSU

22. UCLA

23. USC

24. Texas

25. St. John’s

Related Articles