November 5, 2000 - by
FSU Places Two Players On All-ACC Tournament Team For The First Time

Nov. 5, 2000

Less than a week after placing their first player ever on the All-ACC first team, the Florida State soccer program achieved another first when seniors Rachael Watkin and Sarah Crawford were named to the ACC All-Tournament team Sunday.

The honors come after the Seminoles advanced to the semi-finals of the ACC tournament for the first time in the history of the program. Florida State moved past No. 15 Wake Forest and that marked their furthest advancement in the conference tournament in the program’s six-year history.

Crawford, who is the first Florida State goalkeeper to play every minute of every match for an entire season, limited the Demon Deacons to just one goal and made the biggest save of the season when she stopped Wake’s Colleen Bradley with a diving save and kept the shoot-out even and gave FSU the opportunity to get back into the game. Watkin, a senior from Boca Raton, scored the Seminoles only goal in the 1-1 tie and then hit the game-winning sudden victory penalty kick that sent FSU through to the next round.

“I am really excited,” said Watkin. “It is really nice to know that other coaches felt I deserved to be recognized for the way I played this past weekend. I couldn’t of done it without the help of my teammates and they all deserve to be recognized for their effort and accomplishments.”

2000 ACC Women’s Soccer All-Tournament Team

Rachael Watkin Senior Defender Florida State

Sarah Crawford Senior Goalkeeper Florida State

Julie Augustyniak Senior Defender Clemson

Lindsay Browne Freshman Forward Clemson

Meredith Florance Senior Forward North Carolina

Katie Heaps Junior Defender Duke

Thora Helgadottir Freshman Goalkeeper Duke

Jena Kluegel Junior Midfielder North Carolina

Stefanie Kraay Junior Defender Duke

Julia Marslender Senior Defender North Carolina

Anne Remy Junior Midfielder North Carolina

Related Articles