March 30, 2011 - by
FSU Set for Florida Relays

March 30, 2011


Florida Relays Schedule of Event in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Heat Sheets in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Ranked Nos. 4 and 8 in the nation, respectively, the Florida State men’s and women’s track and field teams will compete at the 67th Pepsi Florida Relays this Friday and Saturday in Gainesville.

The Seminoles are coming off a terrific weekend that saw several key competitors perform well at the FSU Relays while the top distance runners boasted a strong showing at the Stanford Invitational in Palo Alto, Calif.

Starting Friday at 12:05 p.m. with the women’s 100m hurdles, the meet at Percy Beard Field will last until Saturday at 7:05 p.m. with the running of the men’s 4x400m relay.

Making the short trek from Tallahassee to Gainesville will be a host of Florida State’s top student-athletes.

Competing in the field events, juniors Callie Giffin and Lauren Giffin and senior Lizbeth Mabry will take part in the women’s pole vault while junior Amy Harris will go in the women’s long jump.

Harris will also be featured in the women’s triple jump with junior Michelle Jenije.

The women’s shot put will see senior Allyn Laughlin, junior Kamorean Hayes and freshman Chelsea Whalen all compete. Hayes and freshman Shanea Rufus then go in the women’s discus throw and Whalen will test her skills in the women’s javelin throw.

The men’s pole vault will feature Andrew Lehaye and freshman Phillip Young will be in the men’s triple jump. Junior Michael Putman will then pull double-duty in the men’s shot put and discus throw.

Junior Trevor Andrews will round out the field events in the men’s hammer throw.

In the track events, freshman Marecia Pemberton and junior Danielle Jeffrey will represent FSU in the women’s 100m dash and seniors Stephanie Simpson and Teona Rodgers will do the same in the women’s 200m dash.

Rodgers will also run in the 100m hurdles and senior Britney St. Louis will compete in the women’s 400m dash.

Junior Lyndsey Spragins will compete in the women’s 800m run and the trio of juniors Christal Washington and Violah Lagat and senior Bree McCardle will go in the women’s 1500m run.

Hannah Brooks, Astrid Leutert, Kaitlyn Isleborn, Emily Ness, Jessica Parry and Chelsi Woodruff will be competitors in the women’s 5000m run.

In the men’s track events, the 100m dash will boast sophomore David Ambler, junior Kemar Hyman and freshman Paul Madzivire and the star-studded 200m dash will feature seniors Brandon Byram and Charles Clark and junior Maurice Mitchell.

Sophomore Brandon O’Connor and junior Kevin Williams will then run the 4000m dash and Justin Byrd and Tremaine Grant will compete in the 100m hurdles on the men’s side. Brix Gomez and Grant will be in the 400m hurdles.

The distance events will feature Darrin Gibson and John Grellner in the 800m run and Alex Smyth in the 1500m run. will have complete post-meet coverage of the event.


Related Articles