May 26, 2005 - by
FSU Softball Hands Out Post-Season Awards

May 26, 2005

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State head softball coach Dr. JoAnne Graf announced her post-season award winners today. Honorees include junior Natasha Jacob (Coppell, Texas/Coppell HS), seniors Tatiana George (Fontana, Calif./Bloomington HS) and Lesley Palmer (Dale City, Va./Lake City CC), juniors Carly Brieske (Safety Harbor, Fla./Countryside HS) and Kim Hoffer (Houston, Texas/Pensacola JC), sophomore LaShaun Davis (Marrietta, Ga./Walton HS), and freshmen Tiffany McDonald (Belfair, Wash./North Mason HS), Robyn Petrovich (Plantation, Fla./South Plantation HS), and Melissa Wood (Lilburn, Ga./Parkview HS).

Jacob, the only Seminole to garner first team All-ACC honors, was recognized as MVP for the 2005 season. She finished the year leading the team with a .359 hitting percentage and a 24-game hit streak. In fact, her batting average was over 100 points from the next person in line. During the NCAA Division I Championships, Jacob recorded an impressive .545 batting average in four contests while leading the Seminoles to the regional championship. She was also the Florida State Golden Torch Award winner for softball and named to ESPN The Magazine’s District III academic first team.

McDonald and Wood were named “Co-Newcomers of the Year.” Wood, a freshman catcher, garnered All-ACC second team honors and McDonald was selected “Co-Freshman of the Year” by the league.

The “Spirit Award” was given to Brieske, who displayed good team leadership and hard work throughout the season. This was the second straight season she earned the award. Hoffer was handed the “Most Versatile Player Award”, thanks in part for contributing on the field in a variety of ways. The “Heart, Pride, and Attitude Award” went to Petrovich for all her dedication as a bullpen catcher and the extra hours that went into that duty, and finally Davis was selected to receive the “Most Improved” honor this season.

Jacob was named the 2005 FSU MVP

Florida State finished the season with a 35-28 record.

2005 Softball Awards:

MVP: Natasha Jacob

Most Improved: LaShaun Davis

Co-Newcomers of the Year: Tiffany McDonald and Melissa Wood

Most Versatile: Kim Hoffer

Spirit Award: Carly Brieske

Heart, Pride, and Attitude: Robyn Petrovich

Co-Captain Awards: Tatiana George and Lesley Palmer

Related Articles