October 4, 2002 - by
FSU Swimming & Diving Splash Into 2002-03 With Garnet & Gold Meet

Oct. 4, 2002

The Florida State swimming and diving team competed in its annual Garnet and Gold meet Friday afternoon at Bim Stults Pool on the FSU campus in preparation for next week’s season openers at Florida Atlantic and Miami. The men’s and women’s swimming and diving squads were split up into Garnet and Gold teams, with the Garnet team winning both the men’s and women’s action with scores of 120-98 and 108-106, respectively.

The meet gave head coach Neil Harper a good chance to evaluate his team in a competitive atmosphere.

Many of the returning veterans from last season displayed that they are ready for what will be an exciting 2002-03 season for FSU. In addition, the strong class of new comers made an impressive statement by winning six of the 22 individual events.

Andree-Anne LeRoy, a junior transfer and NCAA qualifier from Washington State, displayed her skills for the first time as a Seminole by winning both the 200-yard individual medley (2:06.61) and the 200-yard backstroke (2:05.64).

Freshmen Chris Vythoulkas and Joel Roycik impressed the FSU staff with wins in the men’s 200-back (1:56.17) and 100-yard freestyle (47.28), respectively. Junior college All-American transfer Fernando Jacome won the 200-free at 1:41.51.

In men’s diving action, freshman Peter Crane, one of four new divers, won the three-meter with a score of 259.88. Not to me outshined, sophomore Louis Gagnet, the 2002 ACC Meet Most Valuable Diver and one- and three-meter champion, won the one-meter springboard with a score of 277.63.

For the Lady Seminole divers, sophomores Courtney McClow and Tiffany Manning battled it out on the one- and three-meter boards. McClow, the 2002 ACC one-meter champion, proved that she’s still best in the ACC on the one-meter, winning with a score of 279.00. Manning, the ACC Freshman of the Year and All-American on the platform, bested McClow on the three-meter, taking the event with a score of 278.70.

Other swimming highlights included senior Justin Betts, a three-time NCAA qualifier in 2002, winning the 200-IM at 1:57.15. Emma Dutton, a four-time NCAA qualifier last season, won the 200-yard breaststroke with a mark of 2:22.31. Wickus Nienaber, co-MVP last season along with Betts, won the men’s 200-breast at 2:06.9.

Additional wins were accomplished by: Angie Leach (1000-free, 10:25.45), Alan Ribeiro (1000-free, 9:47.23), Loren Hansen (200-free, 1:52.91), Liz Parkinson (50-free, 24.21), Michael Paulus (50-free, 21.23), Lisa How (200-butterfly, 2:05.32), Matt Wheeler (1:58.21), Emily Breen (100-free, 52.64) and Golda Marcus (500-free, 5:05.75).

The Seminoles will travel to Boca Raton, Fla., for their opening meet of the season against Florida Atlantic on Friday, Oct. 11. The Tribe will stay south to compete against rival Miami in Coral Gables, Fla., on Sunday, Oct. 12.

Related Articles