April 24, 2006 - by
FSU To Honor 2006 ACC Men’s Track Champions with Ceremonial Torch Lighting

April 24, 2006

Tallahassee, Fla. – The No. 1/1 Florida State men’s track and field team will be honored by the entire Seminole family with a lighting of the torch of the “Unconquered” statue on Tuesday, April 25, 2006 at 8:30 pm for winning the 2006 Atlantic Coast Conference Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Championship titles. FSU adopted a policy in March increasing the frequency of the lighting of the spear acknowledging events of great significance and accomplishment on the FSU campus.

The nation’s top-ranked squad won both indoor and outdoor team championships for the second consecutive year and eighth time in nine attempts since April of 2002. During the indoor campaign, third-year head coach Bob Braman was voted 2006 ACC Men’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year and sophomore All-American Ricardo Chambers (Palm Beach Gardens, Fla./Dwyer) was voted the league’s top male performer in helping the Seminoles to the team championship.

Fresh off taking their fourth outdoor title in five seasons this past weekend, the Seminole men used their depth and talent to come home with another trophy, scoring 161 points, 42 ahead of second-place Clemson. Senior seven-time All-American Rafeeq Curry (Miami, Fla./ACE Academy) came away with wins in the long and triple jump and a second-place finish as the third leg of the 4x100m relay. 2005 ACC Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Performer of the Year Tom Lancashire (Bolton, England/Turton) and senior eight-time ACC Champion Andrew Lemoncello (St. Andrews, Scotland/Stirling University) set ACC Championships and Kentner Stadium records in winning the 1500m and 3000m steeplechase, respectively.

Unconquered, a 31-foot high sculpture that depicts a spear-brandishing Seminole astride a rearing horse, was designed by Fritz White to capture the indomitable spirit of the Seminole people and those who have adopted that spirit as a symbol for their university.

Since its 2003 dedication, the spear has been set ablaze at sunset before FSU home football games only and it burns until sunrise the morning after the game. The new policy means the spear will be lit when FSU wins an Atlantic Coast Conference team championship in any sport, or an NCAA individual championship in any sport. In addition, the spear would be lit the night an FSU team is selected for NCAA Championship competition and will burn for 24 hours. For any sport in which the NCAA does not select full teams (currently swimming and track and field), the spear will be lit if five or more Florida State individuals qualify to compete. For sports with preliminary and final rounds of NCAA championships, if the team advances to the final site (i.e.: Final Four, College Cup, College World Series), the spear will be lit again to recognize the achievement.

The spear may also be lit to recognize the winning of a “National Player of the Year” award in any sport (i.e. Heisman Trophy, Rhodes Scholarship). The new policy will also allow the spear to be lit on the night of graduations and convocations, along with other special occasions as approved by the President.

Related Articles