April 13, 2002 - by
FSU Track & Field Wins 18 Events At Seminole Three-Way Meet

April 13, 2002

Complete Results

The Florida State track and field team won 18 events Saturday at the Seminole Three-Way meet at Mike Long Track on the FSU campus. The Seminoles raced against Florida A&M and Western Kentucky as well as members of the United Kingdom’s Olympic team. FSU’s men’s team won 11 events, while the Lady Seminoles took home first-place honors in seven events.

Teresa Bundy automatically qualified for the NCAA championships in the triple jump with a mark of 43-00.00. The distance ranks as the second-best in school history, passing Olympian Kim Batten’s mark of 42-06.00.

Lacy Janson won the women’s pole vault with a NCAA provisional mark of 12-11.50. Janson, who holds the ACC and school records in the pole vault, has already automatically qualified for NCAAs.

Amanda Kinney was the only Tribe member to win two events. She placed first in the shot put at 44-00.75 and hammer throw at 161-03.00.

Other winners for the Lady Seminoles were Vicky Gill in the 1500m run (4:37.92), Tamara Campbell in the 400m (54.70) and Natalie Hughes in the 800m (2:08.30).

Shawn Brown provisionally qualified in the high jump with a mark of 7-01.75. Brown earned All-America honors in the high jump earlier this year in the indoor season.

Including Brown’s win in the high jump, the Seminoles dominated the field events. Jeff Atkinson won the pole vault at 16-10.75, Dorian Scott placed first in the shot put at 54-00.00, Dan Royal won the discus throw at 157-07.00 and B.J. Linnenbrink came in first in the hammer throw with a mark of 185-10.00.

Other winners for the men were Cedrick Robinson (400m, 46.47), Maartin van den Heuvel (800m, 1:51.00), Dave Johnson (1500m, 3:55.55), Joep Tigchelaar (3000m, 8:28.32), Zach Heissner (2000m steeplechase, 6:00.69) and the 4×100 relay team (40.61).

The Seminoles will return to action next weekend when they travel to Charlottesville, Va. to compete at the Atlantic Coast Conference championships. The meet will begin on Friday, April 19, and conclude the following day.

Related Articles