February 16, 2005 - by
FSU Track Set For Conference Championships

Feb. 16, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Florida State track and field squad heads to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, N.C. for the 2005 ACC Indoor Championships from Friday, February 17 through Saturday, February 19.

Defending the Seminole Dynasty… FSU’s men’s team will attempt to win their third consecutive ACC Indoor Championship and fourth overall this weekend. In 2004, the Seminoles scored the most points since FSU joined the ACC, posting 164 total points. The Garnet and Gold finished 22 points ahead of second-place Clemson (142) and with 76 more points than N.C. State, who took third with 88 points. The Tribe took championships in 1994, 2003 and 2004.

Individual Titles… At the 2004 ACC Indoor Championships in Clemson, S.C., the Tribe had five male and two female student-athletes win individual titles. The only returnee of that group is junior All-American and two-time ACC Triple Jump Champion Rafeeq Curry (Miami, Fla./ACE Academy) who recorded an event winning distance of 51’9” (15.77m). For the men, Olympian Brian Dzingai took the 200m dash title with a time of 21.44, Sean Campbell won the 400m dash with a mark of 48.11, Joep Tigchelaar was the 3000m run champion in 8:18.10 and Patrick Gerberich won the pole vault with a height of 16’4.75”. For the women, four-time All-American Natalie Hughes’ 4:48.46 mark won the mile run while four-time All-American Vicky Gill took the 5000m run title for the first time in her career in 16:07.79.

Current Title Holders… The 2005 Seminoles squad has four student-athletes who have won ACC event titles since joining the program. Curry is the two-time defending ACC Indoor Triple Jump Champion, redshirt sophomore Garrett Johnson (Tampa, Fla./Tampa Baptist) swept the shot put at the 2003 indoor and outdoor meets, senior Natalie Hughes is the reigning league champion in the mile run and five-time ACC indoor and outdoor pole vault champion, four-time All-American Lacy Janson (Sarasota, Fla./Cardinal Mooney) is entered in this year’s meet after redshirting the 2004 indoor season.

Arkansas Alright for FSU… Three Seminoles set school records at the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark., the site of the 2005 NCAA Indoor National Championships. Rafeeq Curry recorded an FSU- and career-best mark of 54’00.50″ (16.47m) to win the event and secure his third consecutive berth at the nationals meet. Sophomore Tom Lancashire (Bolton, England/Turton) bested the FSU school record he set in the indoor mile run in 2004, posting a provisional qualifying time of 4:02.33, good for third place. Freshman Walter Dix (Coral Springs, Fla./Coral Springs) shattered the 200m school record for the second time in his fifth meet, running a career-best time of 20.73.

Seminoles in the Record Books… Four Tribe members have broken school records since the beginning of the 2005 indoor season. Garrett Johnson broke the shot put mark at the Florida Intercollegiate meet, when he tossed for a school-best, Stephen O’Connell Center best, second in the world best throw of 66’8.75″ (20.34m), securing a spot at nationals after not competing for a year due to injury. Walter Dix broke the 200m record at the Niswonger Invite with a time 20.87 and then bettered it at the Tyson Invitational with a mark of 20.73 – securing a spot at the nationals meet alongside Johnson. Rafeeq Curry and Tom Lancashire set new FSU-bests in the triple jump and mile run, respectively. Curry’s automatic qualifying mark of 54’00.50″ (16.47m) was good enough for an event win while Lancashire bettered his previous career- and school-best time of 4:04:.33 by two seconds to 4:02.33.

Kentucky Produces Big Wins… Nine Tribe members accounted for event wins on Friday and Saturday, January 28-29, at the Wildcat Invitational in Lexington, Ky. Junior LaToya Legree (Lithonia, Ga./Stephenson), junior Johnta Griffin (Orlando, Fla./Florida A&M) and sophomore Matt Hurley (Tallahassee, Fla./Chiles) picked up victories on the first day while Garrett Johnson, Courtney Wright (Bartonville, Ill./Limestone Community), sophomore Tommy Noyes (North Canton, Ohio/Hoover), senior Olympian Kimberly Walker (Port of Spain, Trinidad/Polytechnic), Tom Lancashire and junior Barbara Parker (Norfolk, England/Loughborough) won on day two.

Related Articles