July 11, 2013 - by
@FSU_MBasketball In 2013 Puerto Rico Classic

July 11, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) –
The 2013 Puerto Rico Tip-Off, an early-season men’s basketball tournament, has secured Northeastern University as its eighth and final team for the 2013 event. Northeastern joins previously announced Florida State, Charlotte, Georgetown, Kansas State, Long Beach State, Michigan and VCU.

All eight schools in the 2013 Puerto Rico Tip-Off had winning records during the 2012-13 season. This marks the first time in tip-off history all eight teams were post-season participants during the previous season.

The seventh annual event will be played at Roberto Clemente Coliseo in San Juan, Puerto Rico November 21, 22 and 24, 2013. The three-day, 12-game tournament will air across ESPN platforms. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

2013 Puerto Rico Tip-Off Teams

Michigan (No. 4 seed) was runner-up in the 2013 NCAA Championship, falling to Louisville in the title game.

VCU (No. 5 seed) defeated Akron before losing to the Wolverines in the third-round of the NCAA Championship.

Georgetown (No. 2 seed) and K-State (No. 4 seed) were both second-round participants in the NCAA Championship.

FSU, Northeastern, Charlotte and Long Beach State all earned NIT berths.

Ticket and Travel Information
Puerto Rico, a family-friendly tournament and resort destination, hosts the teams to three days of games, practices and immersion in Puerto Rican culture. For additional information, please visit www.puertoricotipoff.com.
Tournament tickets will go on sale Thursday, Aug. 1, and will be available through Ticketpop at 787-294-0001or by logging on to www.ticketpop.com. All tournament passes are being sold at $100 + fees and taxes; Single session tickets for $20 + fees and taxes.
Travel packages and discounted hotel accommodations are available to fans through Anthony Travel, the official travel provider of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off. Packages include hotel accommodations, game-day transportation, an all-session pass to the games and access to an exclusive banquet reception with the players and coaches (limited availability). For more information or to book your travel to the tournament, please visit www.anthonytravel.com/espn/puerto-rico-tipoff or call (888) 632-6951.

The Puerto Rico Tip-Off is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

ESPN Regional Television
ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN, owns and operates collegiate sporting events worldwide, including two Labor Day Kickoff college football games; seven college bowl games and eight college basketball events. These account for approximately 200 hours of programming, reach almost 64 million viewers and attract nearly half a million attendees each year. The owned and operated events build relationships with conferences, schools and local communities, as well as provide unique experiences for teams and fans. In addition to event ownership, ERT manages the Big 12 Corporate Partner Program.

Collegiate Football
BBVA Compass Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.); Beef `O’ Brady’s Bowl St. Petersburg; Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl (Dallas-Fort Worth); Gildan New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Las Vegas Bowl; MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); Texas Bowl (Houston); AdvoCare Texas Kickoff (Houston); Sheraton Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu) and The Home Depot College Football Awards
Collegiate Basketball
Armed Forces Classic (TBD); Charleston Classic (S.C.); Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Jimmy V Men’s & Women’s Basketball Classics presented by Corona Extra (Madison Square Garden & Durham, N.C.); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tip-Off (San Juan, PR); State Farm Champions Classic (United Center, Chicago) and Wooden Legacy (Orange County, Calif.).

For more information, visit espnplus.com.

Related Articles