December 7, 2005 - by
FSU’s Andreza Santos Named To AVCA All-East Region First Team

Dec. 7, 2005

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The American Volleyball Coaches Association named Florida State senior Andreza Santos (Minas Gerais, Brazil/College of Southern Idaho) to its 2005 All-East Region First Team on Wednesday morning. Santos becomes the second Seminole to earn the honor in as many years as her sister, Amanda Santos, was selected to the team last season.

Eight 12-team first-team selections are represented as well as six honorable mentions in each region. The Atlantic Coast Conference made up the entire 12-member first team and Clemson rookie Jeannette Abbott was chosen as the Region Freshman of the Year. Furthermore, the ACC had 4-of-6 honorable mention selections.

Santos paced the Seminoles to a 13-17 overall record and 11-11 conference mark in 2005. She led her team in hitting percentage (.278), kills (3.36) and points per game (3.88). Santos hit double-digit kills during 20 matches, including a streak of 12 straight contests. Santos also had 23 aces on the year and averaged 1.20 digs and 0.62 blocks per game.

Santos is now eligible for AVCA All-American honors to be named at a later date.

East Region

Carrie DeMange       Duke University                   MB     So.

Ali Hausfeld **      Duke University                   S      So.

Karla Johnson        University of Miami (Fla.)        OH     Sr.

Sarah Kirkwood       The University of Virginia        OH     So.

Lindsey Laband **    Georgia Tech                       S      Sr.

Dani Nyenhuis        University of North Carolina      OH     Sr.

Andreza Santos       Florida State University          OH     Sr.

Francheska Savage    University of Miami (Fla.)        MB     Jr.

Jenny Shull          Duke University                   DS/Lib So.

Stephanie Smith      University of Maryland            MB     Sr.

Rachel Wagener **    University of Maryland            MB     Sr.


Region Freshman of the Year: Jeannette Abbott, Clemson, OH

Honorable Mention: Allison Anderson (Boston College, DS/Lib, Jr.), Stefani Eddins (NC State, MB, Sr.), Ludmila Francescatto (Virginia Commonwealth, OH, Jr.), Camilla Ihenetu (North Carolina, RS/Opp, Sr.), Shellane Ogoshi (Hofstra, S, So.), Brittany Ross (Clemson, OH, So.)



Related Articles