April 6, 2006 - by
Galloway, Romero and Wilson Honored At Men’s Basketball Honors Banquet

April 6, 2006

Sixth-year senior captain Andrew Wilson earned a team-high four awards as Head Coach Leonard Hamilton and his coaching staff honored the Florida State men’s basketball team at its’ annual banquet at the Donald L. Tucker Center Thursday night. Wilson, the only player in ACC history to play at least one game in six different seasons earned awards as the Seminoles’ top sixth-man, top 3-point shooter and most outstanding student-athlete and was also presented with a special senior/team captain award. Fellow seniors Todd Galloway and Diego Romero were also honored with three awards at the banquet attended by nearly 300 Seminole friends and supporters.

Florida State advanced to the second round of the NIT and finished with a 20-10 record during the 2005-06 season. It marked only the second time in the last 10 seasons that the Seminoles have won 20 or more games in a single season with 20 wins coming most recently during the 1996-97 season when the Seminoles played in the championship game of the postseason NIT. The Seminoles’ finished the season with a 9-7 record in the ACC with the nine conference wins marking the most in league play for the Seminoles since finishing with a 12-4 record during the 1992-93 season.

Wilson averaged a career-high 6.3 points and made a career-high a team-leading 41 3-point field goals in leading the Seminoles to the second round of the NIT in 2006. He shot a career-high 50 percent (41 of 82) from the 3-point arc to earn the award as the team’s top 3-point shooter; played in all 30 games to earn the sixth man award and was named the outstanding student-athlete. Wilson will earn his master’s degree in sport administration in commencement exercises on April 29. He set the school record with 229 games played and finished his career ranked 11th in school history with 110 made 3-point shots during his career.

Galloway, the Seminoles’ starting point guard in both of the last two seasons, earned the awards as the team’s top assists and steals man. He also received a special senior/team captain award from the coaching staff. Galloway led Florida State with 93 assists (3.1 apg) to earn the Otto Petty Most Assists award for the second time in his career and topped the team with 48 steals (1.6 spg) to earn the award as the Seminoles’ chief thief. Galloway finished his career ranked second in school history with 123 games played and tied for ninth in school history with 356 career assists.

Romero, who was a member of two NIT teams, was presented with the award as the team’s top field goal shooter, shared the award as the Seminoles’ top 3-point shooter and was given his senior/team captain plaque. He shot a team-leading .609 from the field and also made exactly 50 percent of his 3-point shots. Romero was the only player in the team to shoot better than 55 percent from the field for the season. He was instrumental in leading the Seminoles past No. 1 ranked Duke, 79-74, in the Tucker Center on March 1, 2006 and helped lead the Seminoles to a fifth place finish in the ACC standings with a 9-7 conference record in 2006.

Junior All-ACC Honorable Mention selection Alexander Johnson earned three awards. He was presented with plaques representing his play as the Seminoles’ leader in blocked shots (30 blocks, 1.1 bpg), and rebounds (216 rebounds, 7.4 rpg). Johnson was also named as Florida State’s Most Improved Player as he nearly doubled his scoring and rebounding averages and earned his career-highs in both blocked shots and steals (30 steals, 1.1 spg).

Junior All-ACC Second-team selection Al Thornton, who averaged a career-high a team-leading 16.1 points per game, was presented with the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award while sophomore Jason Rich, who had 36 steals and 10 blocked shots, earned the Charles Ward Defensive Player of the Year Award.

First Year Academic Achievement Award             Brian Hoff, Casaan Breeden
Outstanding Student Athlete Award Andrew Wilson
Best Field Goal Percentage Award Diego Romero
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage Award Andrew Wilson, Diego Romero
Most Blocked Shots Alexander Johnson
Most Steals Isaiah Swann, Todd Galloway
Otto Petty Most Assists Award Todd Galloway
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award Alexander Johnson
Sixth-Man Award Andrew Wilson
Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award Al Thornton
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award Jason Rich
Most Improved Player Award Alexander Johnson
Consecutive Free Throws Record Award Ralph Mims
Unsung Hero Award Matt Zitani
Tip of the Spear Award Uche Echefu, Jerel Allen
Senior/Team Captain Awards Todd Galloway, Diego Romero, Andrew Wilson
Appreciation Award Dr. Bill Thompson
Related Articles