August 30, 2019
GET TO KNOW: Loris Pourroy

Get to know incoming freshman from France, Loris Pourroy.  He is currently playing in the US Open Junior Tennis Championships in New York.

Q: Why did you choose FSU?
“I chose FSU because it has a great tennis program and I thought the coaches were really good.  The team is talented as well, so I thought it was a good atmosphere that I wanted to be a part of.”

Q: When did you start playing tennis and what got you interested in the sport?
“I started playing tennis at four years old.  The only other sport I played growing up was soccer.  It was only me who played tennis, nobody else in my family played.  I just thought tennis was fun to play so I continued.”

Q: Describe your family and hometown.
“My hometown is a small city in France.  I live in the mountains so in the winter it’s just me and my family most of the time.  I only have one sibling, an older sister who is 20 years old.”

Q: Who do you look up to in the game of tennis?
Ever since I was young I have really liked Rafael Nadal, he is my role model.  I really like how he plays the game and the way he fights on the court.  I don’t have the same game as him, I play a little different but I still really like him.  Off the court, I would say I look up to Roger Federer.”

Q:  What is the biggest difference between your hometown in France and Tallahassee?
“Well, I have only been here for a week, but I think the biggest difference I have noticed so far is the weather.  Here it is really hot and humid.  At home, it is hot sometimes but we have winter, we have snow, and we go through the other seasons as well.”

Q:  What is the most memorable moment in your athletic career so far?
“I think this year has been the most memorable so far.  I played Leo Borg in Wimbledon.  It was a really good experience and the first time I played there.  Wimbledon was in London and being able to play the Bjorn Borg’s son is the most memorable experience I have in tennis.”

Q: Any interesting hobbies outside of tennis?
“I like to play video games, my favorite game to play is FIFA.  I hang out with my family a lot of the time but I also just like all sports in general, so I really like basketball, soccer and skiing.”

Q: What do you need to do in order to be successful in the Junior US Open?
“I need to be able to fight the entire match against my opponents.  I need to stay focused and just be confident while I am there.”

Q: What are you looking to gain/take away from playing in the Junior US Open?
“Similar to Wimbledon, I am really looking for gaining the experience of playing in such a big event.  I am going to try to enjoy the moment because it’s not every day that I get to participate in something like this playing the best of the best.”

Q Favorite thing about FSU so far?
“I have only been here a week so far, but the team spirit and how close all the guys are has been a thing that stood out to me right away.”

Q: What’s your Major?
“Sports Management”

Q: What’s your favorite snack?
“Donuts”

Q: Favorite TV Series
“Prison Break”

Related Articles