February 27, 2007 - by
Gladden, Monroe Earns ACC Honors

Feb. 27, 2007

ACC Women’s Basketball honors continue to be announced and Florida State continues to be well-represented. Senior Alicia Gladden became a three-time member of the ACC All-Defensive Team while rookie Jacinta Monroe was named to the five-player ACC All-Freshman Team.


Alicia Gladden Named To All-Defensive Team Third Straight Year

For the third straight season, Florida State‘s Alicia Gladden has been named to the ACC All-Defensive Team making her the first Seminole to earn such status three times. FSU’s leader with 63 steals, she ranks ninth in the league in steals per game with 2.17 and is tied for fourth in ACC contests with 2.43. She is also second on the team in rebounding at 6.0 boards per game. With 265 career steals, she is second all-time in career steals at FSU and is just four steals shy of tying Tia Paschal for the school leader. The ACC coaches began picking an ACC All-Defensive Team in 2000 and an FSU player has been among the five-member team in five of the seven years:



2000        Brooke Wyckoff

2001        Brooke Wyckoff

2005        Alicia Gladden

2006        Alicia Gladden

2007        Alicia Gladden


Jacinta Monroe Earns ACC All-Freshman Team Honors

Florida State Rookie Jacinta Monroe has been named to the 2007 ACC All-Freshman team. In the regular-season, Monroe averaged 7.8 points and 6.0 rebounds per game and started 14 games, including 10 ACC contests. A three-time ACC Rookie of the Week honoree, Monroe is first on the team with 53 blocks and had a team-best four doubles-doubles this season, including an impressive 23 points and 21 rebounds in her collegiate debut.

      In all, she scored in double figures 12 times and led the team in scoring once and grabbed seven or more rebounds 11 times. She ranks sixth in the ACC in field goal percentage and third in blocks per game.

      Since joining the ACC in 1992, FSU has had six players earn ACC All-Freshman team honors:



1992        Connie Robinson

1996        Latavia Coleman

1997        Brooke Wyckoff

1999        April Traylor

2004        Shante Williams

2006        Britany Miller

2007        Jacinta Monroe


Related Articles