April 10, 2006 - by
Golden `Nole Awards Recognize FSU Student-Athletes Contributions To The Community

Photo by: Ryals Lee, Jr., FSU Photo Lab

Photo Gallery

April 10, 2006

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – It was a star-studded event, literally, Monday night as over 500 Florida State student-athletes converged at the University Center Club for the 12th Annual Golden `Nole Awards Banquet, presented by the Florida State Department of Athletics. With the 2005-06 athletic season nearing completion, the glitzy event paid tribute to Seminole student-athletes who have proudly worn the Garnet and Gold during the last year.

The highlight of the evening occurred in the final moments, as 2005 Rhodes Scholar and FSU shot putter, Garrett Johnson, was presented with a special award by his peers proclaiming an international star was named in his honor. Standing alongside FSU Director of Athletics, Dave Hart, Jr., Johnson was taken aback slightly as he received a standing ovation of long duration for his dedication and commitment towards excellence over the last few years.

“I can promise you,” said Hart, “that Garrett’s star will be the brightest one in the sky.”

While a student-athlete from each sport was honored, there was only one team award given which was the prestigious Athletic Director’s Cup for Service. While the race was tight, Hart proudly presented the trophy to the Florida State University women’s golf team for the fifth straight time. Furthermore, Ashley Kemp (women’s golf) and Kathryn Purcell (women’s track) earned the 2005-06 Seminole Impact Awards.

The Seminole Impact Awards are presented to individuals, groups or teams who have distinguished themselves as having a strong commitment to community service and that commitment has created a positive impact in the community through their continued participation. In the past, this award has been presented to entities who have either singularly done impressive amounts of service to the community, or have given birth to new community service programs, that will continue into the future.

Other special awards were also presented at the banquet including the Doc Fauls Award, the ACC Top Six for Service Awards, and the Golden `Nole Awards.

The Doc Fauls award, established in 1998, is an award that recognizes the male and female senior Seminole student-athletes who have overcome the most adversity to participate in athletics for Florida State University. As the Head Athletic Trainer at Florida State University from 1954-1986, Doc Fauls had the opportunity to touch the lives of many. He consistently treated each and everyone in an honest, professional manner and was always willing to take the time to help the athletes through the physical and emotional pain that often came with participation in intercollegiate athletics.

2005-06 Doc Fauls Award recipients:

LaQuinta Neely, Women’s Basketball

Andrew Wilson, Men’s Basketball

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The ACC Top Six for Service recipients were selected each month throughout the year for something unique that distinguished them as top performers in FSU’s community service program with the primary criteria being a willingness to participate and a desire to serve despite time constraints. The selected students made significant contributions to the community and were positive ambassadors for the department.

2005-06 ACC Top Six for Service Winners:

Shawn Allen – Men’s Track and Field

James Coleman – Football

Carey Galuppi – Softball (2nd year)

Sarah Griffin – Volleyball (Impact Award winner last year)

Alex Kennon – Men’s Swimming and Diving

Cathleen Willy – Women’s Cross Country (2nd year)

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

The Golden `Nole Award is presented each year to the student-athlete on each team who has exhibited the ideals of intercollegiate athletics. Head coaches select these student-athletes by evaluating athletic and academic success as well as their contribution to service to the university and in the community.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

2005-06 Golden `Nole Award winners:

Women’s Basketball – Ganiyat Adeduntan

Men’s Basketball – Andrew Wilson

Men’s Cross Country – Andrew Lemoncello

Women’s Cross Country – Laura Bowerman

Football – David Castillo, Kamerion Wimbley

Soccer – Teresa Rivera

Men’s Swimming & Diving – Joel Roycik

Women’s Swimming & Diving – Carrie Ellis

Volleyball – Sarah Griffin

Baseball – Matt DiBlasi, Mark Sauls

Men’s Golf – Adam Wallace

Women’s Golf – Caroline Larsson

Softball – Seniors: Carly Brieske, BillieAnne Gay, Natasha Jacob, Kim Hoffer, Carey Galuppi

Men’s Tennis – Chris Westerhof

Women’s Tennis – Lisa Nystrom Skold

Men’s Track & Field – Garrett Johnson, Tom Lancashire

Women’s Track & Field – Lacy Janson, Natalie Hughes

Related Articles