September 1, 2019 - by
Golf’s Kinhult A Top Candidate For ANNIKA Award

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State sophomore Frida Kinhult, who earned First Team All-America Honors as a freshman, has been named to the Golf Channel’s ANNIKA Award Preseason Watch List. She is the top candidate and one of 25 golfers on the initial watch list for the 2019-20 season.

The ANNIKA Award is in its seventh year of presenting the National Player of the Year for women’s golf. Kinhult finished as the runner-up for the award as a freshman in 2019. Florida State’s Kinhult is one of six players from the ACC – and one of only three in the top 10 – on the list released in advance of the Seminoles’ season opening match at the Cougar Classic which begins September 8 at the Yeamans Hall Club in Hanahan, S.C.

“To be recognized for an award is always fun and very motivating,” said Kinhult. “I enjoyed a successful summer and I’m ready to get back to playing with my teammates and for Florida State University. As a group, we are really excited for the upcoming season.”

Kinhult was the most decorated freshman in Florida State golf history in 2019. She was named the National Freshman of the Year, won the Golfstat Cup with the lowest scoring average in the nation (70.66), was named the ACC Golfer of the Year (Co), the ACC Freshman of the Year and was the runner-up for the ANNIKA Award, the WGCA Golfer of the Year Award and the Honda Award for Golf.

1. Frida Kinhult, Florida State
2. Andrea Lee, Stanford
3. Albane Valenzuela, Stanford
4. Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
5. Jennifer Chang, USC
6. Sierra Brooks, Florida
7. Kaitlyn Papp, Texas
8. Gabriela Ruffels, Southern California
9. Jaravee Boonchant, Duke
10. Olivia Mehaffey, Arizona State
11. Linn Grant, Arizona State
12. Gina Kim, Duke
13. Emma Spitz, UCLA
14. Hailee Cooper, Texas
15. Malia Nam, Southern California
16. Agathe Laisne, Texas
17. Angelina Ye, Stanford
18. Yusang Hou, Arizona
19. Erica Shepherd, Duke
20. Pimnipa Panthong, Kent State
21. Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, South Carolina
22. Sofia Garcia, Texas Tech
23. Siyun Liu, Wake Forest
24. Caterina Don, Georgia
25. Kaleigh Telfer, Auburn

Related Articles