April 13, 2022 - by

Hamilton Celebrates M. Basketball Team At Honors Banquet

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Redshirt seniors RayQuan Evans and Harrison Prieto, along with freshman Matthew Cleveland, shared four awards as Florida State Head Coach Leonard Hamilton and his staff honored the men’s basketball team at its annual Honors Banquet at the Champions Club. The Seminoles gathered as a group to recognize the triumphs and celebrate the members of Hamilton’s 20th team at Florida State as they played as one of the most respected teams in all of college basketball.

Florida State finished the season with a 17-14 overall record and a 10-10 mark in ACC play. The Seminoles won the championship of the inaugural Jacksonville Classic, earned a winning record against the five ACC teams that were selected to play in the NCAA Tournament and won three of their final four games to conclude the season. After winning six of their first eight games of the season, the Seminoles were in first place in the ACC standings and had won five consecutive conference games before losing all but one of their starters to season-ending surgeries in late January.

Evans, who earned his degree in Social Science during his career in Tallahassee was honored as Florida State’s top free throw shooter (.855 percentage from the line in 2022), won the Otto Petty Award as the Seminoles’ leader in assists (3.2 apg average in 2022), earned the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award (team leading 41 seals in 2022) and won the prestigious Tip of the Spear award. The Tip of the Spear award is annually presented by Hamilton and his staff to the member of the men’s basketball team who exemplifies Florida State’s unconquered spirit and who gives unselfishly of himself throughout the season.

Prieto, who will earn his master’s degree in Meteorology in July, took home the awards as an Outstanding Academic All-Star, as the Seminoles’ Most Improved Player, as the Seminole with the best 3-point field goal shooting percentage (.455 3-point shooting percentage in 2022) and a J.U.I.C.E Award (Just Us in Combat Everyday), which he shared with the members of Florida State’s famed Green Team.

Cleveland was also honored with four awards. He was presented with the First-Year Academic Achievement Award, the Seminoles’ overall Academic Achievement Award, the Newcomer of the Year Award and the Sixth Man of the Year Award. Cleveland was named to the ACC All-Academic Team earlier this week. He was one of only three freshmen from the ACC named to the ACC’s Academic Team.

Senior Justin Lindner, who along with Prieto, finished his record-tying sixth-year as a Seminole in 2022, was presented with two awards. He was named as an Outstanding Academic All-Star and took home one of six J.U.I.C.E. Awards.

Lindner and Prieto were members of a school-record tying four NCAA Tournament teams and Florida State’s 2020 ACC Championship team.

Redshirt senior Anthony Polite, who played on four NCAA Tournament teams and 107 career games, was presented with the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards Award as he averaged a career-high 5.6 rebounds per game in 2022. He shared the award with fellow senior Malik Osborne. Between the two, Polite and Osborne averaged a combined 8.2 rebounds per game.

Redshirt senior Tanor Ngom, who played two seasons as a Seminole, was named as an Academic All-Star and as Florida State’s Unsung Hero. After suffering an injury himself in November, Ngom was thrust into the starting lineup upon his return and started 15 games.

Already announced as a part of Florida State’s schedule for the upcoming 2022-23 season is an appearance in the 2022 ESPN Events Invitational at the HP Field House at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Disney in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. The Seminoles will play in the event along with Memphis, Ole Miss, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Seton Hall, Siena and Stanford during ESPN’s Feast Week, November 24-27.

Florida State’s complete schedule will be finalized and released in September.

First-Year Academic Achievement Award: Matthew Cleveland
Academic Achievement Award: Matthew Cleveland
Outstanding Academic All-Stars: Justin Lindner, Tanor Ngom, Isaac Spainhour, Max Thorpe, Harrison Prieto
Newcomer of the Year: Matthew Cleveland
Most Improved Player: Harrison Prieto, Jalen Warley
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage: Harrison Prieto, John Butler
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards: Malik Osborne, Anthony Polite
Best Free Throw Percentage: RayQuan Evans, Caleb Mills
Bob Sura Outstanding Player: Caleb Mills
Sixth Man: Matthew Cleveland
Otto Petty Most Assists Award: RayQuan Evans
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award: RayQuan Evans
Best Field Goal Percentage: Naheem McLeod
Unsung Hero: Tanor Ngom, Wyatt Wilkes
Tip of The Spear: RayQuan Evans
Mr. Hustle: Cam’Ron Fletcher
J.U.I.C.E (Just Us in Combat Everyday): Justin Lindner, RJ Morris, Harrison Prieto, Isaac Spainhour, Max Thorpe, Cleveland Yates

Related Articles