July 17, 2012 - by
Haulstead Named to Biletnikoff Watch List

July 17, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Despite not playing a down as a true junior a season ago, Willie Haulstead’s performance during the 2010 season was enough to warrant a place on the 2012 Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

Brandon Mellor
Brandon Mellor
Seminoles.com Senior Writer
Follow me on Twitter

The honor, which is annually awared to the nation’s top wide receiver and is named after former FSU standout Fred Biletnikoff, features 48 wide receivers from across college football on its watch list.

Haulstead is one of those early candidates despite sustaining a fall-camp concussion that cost him all of the 2011 season. The 6-foot-3, 230-pound wide receiver led FSU in touchdowns with six in 2010 while also adding 587 total receiving yards.

Haulstead also led the Seminoles with eight plays of 25 yards or more as he became one of quarterback Christian Ponder’s favorite targets.

While Haulstead’s inclusion on the list is a bit surprising because of his lost 2011 season, the absence of Florida State stating wide receivers Rodney Smith and Rashad Greene on this preseason’s Biletnikoff Award Watch List is even more head scratching.

Greene led the Seminoles in yards, catches and touchdown grabs as a true freshman last year but there are no underclassmen featured on the watch list. Last year Greene was added to the Biletnikoff Watch List during the season after he began to emerge as a legitimate offensive threat for the ‘Noles.

Smith, however, is a true senior that posted comparable numbers to many of the student-athletes on the 2012 watch list. Smith finished the 2011 season with 561 yards receiving, 36 catches and four touchdowns — statistics that were all second on the team.


The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding college football receiver (the award defines receiver as any player who catches a pass) by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. (TQC). The TQC Foundation, Inc. is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Present Chairman and Founding Trustee, Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc. that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. 

The idea of a college receiver’s award was not a novel one, as a number of organizations throughout America considered establishing it; however, the TQC Foundation, Inc. joined the idea to the organization’s vision and created an outstanding award and dynamic organization. The trophy, presented to each winner, is the most beautiful individual award in college football – it has won several national awards for design excellence and aesthetic appeal.

Related Articles