December 5, 2011 - by
Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Dec. 5, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State’s Ines Jaurena and Tiffany McCarty were named semifinalists for the 2011 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual award in intercollegiate soccer.

McCarty was named a semifinalist for the second time in her career and first since 2009 when she finished the season as a consensus All-American and the ACC Offensive Player of the Year. Jaurena makes her first ever appearance on the list and joins Becky Edwards (2009) as the only defenders in Florida State history to be recognized as a Hermann Trophy semifinalist.

Florida State was one of four schools from the ACC to be honored with at least one semifinalist, while FSU joined Stanford as the only two schools with multiple players among the 15 semifinalists.

McCarty finished the 2011 season as the team leader in points (42), goals (18), shots (80) and game-winning goals (4), while sitting tied for second in assists (6). A two-time first-team All-ACC selection, the Laurel, Md., native started all 26 games for the Seminoles at the forward position. This year McCarty became FSU’s all-time career leader in points, goals and shots.

Jaurena also started all 26 games for Florida State as each start came in the Seminole backline. She helped lead FSU to 12 shutouts including three in the NCAA Tournament. The junior defender set season-highs for points (11) and goals (4), while three of her four goals were game-winners. Jaurena earned first-team All-ACC honors in 2011.

McCarty and Jaurena join a growing list of Seminole greats that have been named Hermann Trophy Semifinalists over the years. McCarty is the first Seminole to earn the distinction twice. In 2006, Selin Kuralay and India Trotter became the first Seminoles to be named semifinalists. They were followed by Mami Yamaguchi (2007), Sanna Talonen (2008), Becky Edwards (2009) and McCarty (2009).

In 2007, Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. She won the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66) and finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi played a major role in Florida State’s run to the 2007 National Championship game. The Tokyo, Japan native also made school history becoming the first FSU player to be named a finalist for the Hermann Trophy.

Head coaches of NCAA Division I programs with current membership in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) will vote to determine the 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy recipient. Three finalists for the award will be announced on Friday, Dec. 9. They will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis for a news conference on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where the winner will be announced. A dinner and form presentation of the award will follow the news conference that evening.


Related Articles