December 1, 2008 - by
Hudson, Brown And Gano Named First Team All-ACC Selections

Dec. 1, 2008

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – Florida State was represented on the All-ACC football team by eight players including three first-team selections. Rodney Hudson, Everette Brown and Graham Gano were all named first team All-ACC for the first time in their careers. Tony Carter, Myron Rolle and Michael Ray Garvin were both named to the second team while Antone Smith and Ryan McMahon garnered honorable mention honors.


This is the first time in three years that Florida State has placed multiple players on the All-ACC first team. In 2006 and 2007 Seminoles secured just one spot on the first team each year. This is the second All-ACC honor for Gano, Hudson and Rolle. Last season Hudson was named second team and Gano was an honorable mention punter. In 2006 Rolle was named an honorable mention All-ACC selection at safety.


Hudson is the first FSU guard to be named to the first team since Montrae Holland in 2002. Garvin’s selection marks the first time a Seminole has made the team as a specialist since 1999 when Peter Warrick was named to the first team. Smith’s inclusion marks the first time an FSU running back has been named to the team since Leon Washington in 2004 and Brown is just the second defensive end (Kamerion Wimbley — 2005) since 1996 to be named to the first team.


2008 ACSMA/AP All-ACC Football Team

(Total Points) — Maximum 134 Points / 67 Voters



                                       First Team                                                    Second Team 


Quarterback                     Russell Wilson, NC State, Fr. (106)                    Thaddeus Lewis, Duke, Jr. (28)


Running Back                    Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech, So. (134)#       Darren Evans, Virginia Tech, Fr. (58)

                                       Da’Rel Scott, Maryland, So. (76)                       C.J. Spiller, Clemson, Jr. (50)


Wide Receiver                   Hakeem Nicks, North Carolina, Jr. (130)            Eron Riley, Duke, Sr. (57)

                                       D.J. Boldin, Wake Forest, Sr. (76)                     Aaron Kelly, Clemson, Sr. (56)


Tight End                          John Phillips, Virginia, Sr. (88)                          Ryan Purvis, Boston College, Sr. (45)


Tackle                              Eugene Monroe, Virginia, Sr. (117)                   Garrett Reynolds, North Carolina, Sr. (42)

                                       Andrew Gardner, Georgia Tech, Sr. (107)          Anthony Castonzo, Boston College, So. (41)


Guard                              Rodney Hudson, Florida State, So. (99)             Sergio Render, Virginia Tech, Jr. (48)

                                       Clif Ramsey, Boston College, Sr. (78)               Cord Howard, Georgia Tech, Jr. (45)


Center                             Edwin Williams, Maryland, Sr. (62)                    Thomas Austin, Clemson, Jr. (48)


                                       #Unanimous Selection


Honorable Mention (20 points or more)

QB – Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, Jr. (26)

RB – Antone Smith, Florida State, Sr. (33); Cedric Peerman, Virginia, Sr. (30)

WR – Darius Heyward-Bey, Maryland, Jr. (34); Kevin Ogletree, Virginia, Jr. (32)

TE – Dan Gronkowski, Maryland, Sr. (41)

OT – Scott Burley, Maryland, Sr. (34)

OG – Thomas Claiborne, Boston College, So. (38); Calvin Darity, North Carolina, Sr. (34); Jaimie Thomas, Maryland, Sr. (33)

              Nick Marshman, Virginia Tech, Sr. (24)

C – Ryan McMahon, Florida State, Sr. (35); Matt Tennant, Boston College, Jr. (33); Ryan Shuman, Virginia Tech, Sr. (23)




                                       First Team                                                    Second Team 


Defensive End                   Everette Brown, Florida State, Jr. (131)             Orion Martin, Virginia Tech, Sr. (61)

                                       Michael Johnson, Georgia Tech, Sr. (99)            Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech, So. (39)


Defensive Tackle               B.J. Raji, Boston College, Sr. (103)                   Ron Brace, Boston College, Sr. (52)

                                       Vance Walker, Georgia Tech, Sr. (62)               Darryl Richard, Georgia Tech, Sr. (50)


Linebacker                        Mark Herzlich, Boston College, Jr. (118)            Clint Sintim, Virginia, Sr. (79)

                                       Michael Tauiliili, Duke, Sr. (110)                       Alex Wujciak, Maryland, So. (43)

                                       Aaron Curry, Wake Forest, Sr. (106)                 Mark Paschal, North Carolina, Sr. (40)


Cornerback                      Alphonso Smith, Wake Forest, Sr. (134)#          Ras-I Dowling, Virginia, So. (49)

                                       Victor Harris, Virginia Tech, Sr. (125)                Tony Carter, Florida State, Sr. (34)  tie

                                                                                                            Kendric Burney, North Carolina, So. (34)


Safety                              Trimane Goddard, North Carolina, Sr. (105)      Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech, So. (85)  

                                       Michael Hamlin, Clemson, Gr. (89)                    Myron Rolle, Florida State, Jr. (55)


                                       #Unanimous Selection


Honorable Mention (20 points or more)

DE – Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech, So. (26); Willie Young, NC State, Jr. (25)

DT – Vince Oghobaase, Duke, Jr. (40); Boo Robinson, Wake Forest, Jr. (31); Jeremy Navarre, Maryland, Sr. (29)

LB – Nate Irving, NC State, So. (28)

S —  Paul Anderson, Boston College, Sr. (35); Anthony Reddick, Miami, Sr. (23)






                                       First Team                                                    Second Team


Placekicker                       Graham Gano, Florida State, Sr. (127)              Matt Bosher, Miami, So. (34)


Punter                              Travis Baltz, Maryland, So. (105)                      Matt Bosher, Miami, So. (60)      


Specialist                          C.J. Spiller, Clemson, Gr. (66)                          Michael Ray Garvin, Florida State, Sr. (41)          


Honorable Mention (20 points or more)

PK – Dustin Keys, Virginia Tech, Sr. (25)

SP – Brandon Tate, North Carolina, Sr. (33); T.J. Graham, NC State, Fr. (31)



Related Articles