January 30, 2018 - by
Imani Wright Selected as Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidate

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Florida State redshirt senior Imani Wright has been selected as one of 10 candidates for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, announced on Tuesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. The award is given to the top shooting guard in the country.

Named after the first player, male or female, appointed to the All-America Team in four straight college seasons and a 1993 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the annual award in its inaugural year recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

“Ann is widely recognized as the only woman to sign a contract with an NBA team, but more importantly she has been a shining example of character in combination with her skill,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “We are honored to present this inaugural award bearing her name and to recognize the student-athletes who have worked so hard to follow her path.”

Wright is putting up a shooting season that is aimed straight at the record books. The native of Hooks, Texas, has totaled 74 3-point field goals this season through just 20 games played. She is just five 3-point field goals away from breaking the FSU single-season record of 78 held by Courtney Ward in the 2010-11 season.

With conference play always being the most crucial part of the regular season, Wright has shown that she is one of the most efficient shooters in the country. She leads the ACC with 21.7 points per game in conference play, as well as leads the conference with 4.9 3-point field goals made per game in ACC play.

Wright is not a volume shooter who gets her numbers by a lot of attempts, rather someone who is efficient from the field. Despite having 72 3-point field goal attempts in ACC play, she is shooting 47.2 percent from beyond the arc – the fifth-highest in the league.

The All-America caliber performer leads the Seminoles with nine 20-point games, which include a couple signature games where she drilled eight 3-point field goals and 33 points vs. UNC. She followed with a school-record nine 3-pointers and 31 points in an overtime win at Wake Forest.

Despite missing one game due to illness, Wright is 10th in the country in 3-point field goals made and eighth in 3-point field goals per game.

Wright is the second Seminole to be named a Top 10 candidate for her position’s award, joining point guard AJ Alix (Nancy Lieberman Award).

The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the 2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.

Wright joins fellow ACC student-athletes Asia Durr (Louisville) and Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame) on the list.

2018 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates
Darby Maggard, Belmont
Katie Lou Samuelson, Connecticut
Imani Wright, Florida St.
Asia Durr, Louisville
Chloe Jackson, LSU
Allazia Blockton, Marquette
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Arike Ogunbowale, Notre Dame
Tyler Scaife Rutgers
Kitija Laksa South Florida

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2017-18 season*

Related Articles