April 19, 2018 - by
Indoor Champions Produce Eight All-ACC Academic Honorees

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s stars rose up to deliver a sweep of the ACC Indoor Track & Field women’s and men’s team titles back in February, and as has often been the case, many of those same Seminoles excelled in the classroom.

Eight Noles – five women and three men – were selected to the All-ACC Academic team, as announced by the conference office on Thursday. Among that group were ACC Championship Women’s Track MVP Ka’Tia Seymour and ACC Men’s Freshman of the Year Trey Cunningham; two of five FSU freshmen represented on the squad.

“I’m really proud of the tradition our track & field athletes have set,” Florida State coach Bob Braman said. “They have made it the norm to be great in competition and great in the classroom. Every year we are one of the modest decorated academic programs of all the schools in the ACC.”

All eight of the honored Noles far exceeded the minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team; a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average. In addition to their excellence in the classroom, each of the Noles earned All-ACC honors at the championship meet.

Seymour and Cunningham, who won ACC championships in the 200-meter dash and 60-meter hurdles, respectively, were joined by fellow freshmen Jodie Judd, Maudie Skyring and Darryl Gay.

“I’m really excited that our freshmen have taken on that challenge,” Braman added. “I’m not sure we’ve ever had five freshmen All-ACC Academic honorees. Overall we’ve done an excellent job of being true student-athletes.”
Junior Shauna Helps and sophomore Eleonora Omoregie were also selected from the women’s team, while junior Brandon Tirado was the lone upper classman from the men’s team.

Seymour, a sprinter from Palatka, Fla., contributed 18 individual points to the 10-point winning margin as the Noles women claimed their third indoor conference crown. In addition to her 200 title the sport management major finished second in the 60-meter dash. Seymour earned first-team All-American honors by placing sixth in the 200 at the NCAA Indoor Championships, and was also a second-team All-American in the 60-meter dash.

Helps, an exercise physiology major, was the 200-meter runner and place fourth in the 60-meter dash; a 13-point contribution to the title for the standout from Belvedere, Jamaica. Helps earned second-team All-American honors at the NCAA Indoor Championships in the 200 as a first-time individual event qualifier.

Skyring and Judd were key components to a strong scoring ACC meet from the women’s distance team, collaborating as members of the fifth-place distance medley relay while finishing fifth and seventh, respectively, in the mile. Skyring is an exercise physiology major from Wollongong, Australia, while Judd, from Canvey Island, Great Britain, is majoring in editing, writing & media.

Omoregie, who hails from Udine, Italy, is a biological science major. She finished third at the ACC Championships in the high jump.

In all, 12 of 20 FSU women who competed at the ACC Indoor Championships met the academic criteria for All-ACC Academic honors.

Cunningham, an international affairs major from Winfield, Ala., enjoyed a banner freshman campaign. In addition to winning the ACC 60-meter hurdles title he finished sixth at the NCAA Indoor Championships to earn first-team All-American honors.

Gay, a sport management major from Orlando, Fla., was one of several key contributors to the 11th men’s ACC team title. He pitched in to the Noles’ dominant sprint performance with a fifth-place finish in the 60-meter dash to earn second-team All-ACC honors.

Tirado, a Naples, Fla. native who excels in his information technology major, delivered a sixth-place finish in the weight throw for second-team All-ACC honors.

In addition to the release of the complete All-ACC Academic teams, North Carolina’s Nicole Greene and Virginia Tech’s Vincent Ciattei – each of whom won ACC and NCAA Indoor national titles – were named ACC Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Related Articles