October 20, 2016 - by
Isaac Named To Karl Malone Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame has named Florida State freshman Jonathan Isaac as one of 20 candidates for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward Award.  Players are selected from Division I men’s basketball teams all over the country for this watch-list and Isaac is one of six from the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The award was introduced in 2015 by Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone in an effort to recognize the top power forwards in the country.


Isaac is considered to be the crown jewel of Florida State’s 2016 top-10 ranked recruiting class.  He is considered to be one of the top recruits in the history of the Florida State program.
“I am truly blessed to be named to the Karl Malone Award watch list,” said Isaac.  “We are going to succeed as a team this year; our success will come because we play with each other and for each other.  Our coaching staff has done a great job this year helping us play to the strengths of each of our teammates.   We want to win games and we will win as a team.”

With a 7’ wingspan, Isaac has displayed immense promise as a player entering the 2016-17 season.  He played in the Jordan Brand All-American Game at Barclays Center and was a member of the USA Basketball Junior National Select Team following his senior year of high school at IMG Academy.  He helped lead the USA Select Team to a 101-67 victory over the World Select Team at the Nike Hoop Summit on April 9, 2016.

Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland Conference honors in each of his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996).

Isaac Named To Karl Malone Award Watch List

“I was curious to see what type of players would be identified and how they would prove themselves as the season progressed,” said Malone. “I can tell you I have not been disappointed by the level of talent and dedication these twenty candidates have shown and I look forward to watching them on the hardwood this year.”

By mid-February the list of twenty players will be narrowed down to just 10 and in March, Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee will be presented with the top five candidates. The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Award will be announced at the ESPN College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, Cal., on April 7, 2017.

2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates
Jonathan Isaac, Florida State
Lauri Markkanen, Arizona
Amile Jefferson, Duke
Yante Maten, Georgia
Carlton Bragg, Jr., Kansas
Robert Carter, Maryland
Dedric Lawson, Memphis
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Isaiah Hicks, North Carolina
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Tyler Lydon, Syracuse
Bennie Boatwright, USC
Alex Peters, Valparaiso
Kris Jenkins, Villanova
Austin Nichols, Virginia
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin

Related Articles