December 15, 2016 - by
It’s Official: Cook, Walker Named Consensus All-Americans by NCAA

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Junior running back Dalvin Cook and senior defensive end DeMarcus Walker were officially named consensus All-Americans on Thursday by the NCAA.

Cook and Walker become the 37th and 38th Seminoles to capture the prestigious honor. It marks the 44th and 45th total consensus All-America awards for FSU, counting players that grabbed the award twice.

Florida State has the nation’s longest active streak of consecutive years with a consensus All-American at seven years – every year Jimbo Fisher has been the head coach at FSU.

Cook was named a unanimous All-American, appearing on the First Team by all five organizations recognized by the NCAA (AFCA, FWAA, The Sporting News, Walter Camp and Associated Press). He is the 14th FSU player to be deemed unanimous and it’s the 15th honor overall to the Seminoles (Deion Sanders was twice a unanimous All-American in 1987-88).

Cook finished the regular season with 1,620 rushing yards and 19 total touchdowns. He added 426 receiving yards to give him 2,046 total yards from scrimmage. The Miami, Fla., native ranks third in ACC history with 4,319 rushing yards, and is the only player to break 4,000 yards in his first three seasons. He’s only the second Seminole running back to earn consensus All-America honors, joining Greg Allen (1983), and the first to garner unanimous mention.

Walker nearly declared for the NFL Draft following the 2015 season, but returned to complete one of the finest seasons by a defensive end in school history. The Jacksonville, Fla., native collected ACC Defensive Player of the Year honors from the media and the coaches and leads the nation in sacks (15.0). He has 17.5 tackles for loss and leads the Seminoles in tackles (64), fumbles caused (3) and recovered (2). Walker is the sixth Seminole defensive end to collect consensus All-America accolades, joining Peter Boulware (1996), Reinard Wilson (1997), Andre Wadsworth (1997), Jamal Reynolds (2000) and Bjoern Werner (2012).

Walker and Cook are the 11th and 12th consensus All-Americans under Fisher.

The NCAA’s official criteria for selecting the annual consensus All-America team is as follows:

The following players were listed on the most first team All-America teams competing against players at that position only. To be selected a player must be named first team on at least two of the five selected All-America teams. Second and third teams were used to break ties. Twelve players were unanimous choices by the five ^organizations used in the consensus chart — American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America, The Sporting News and Walter Camp Foundation.

It’s Official: Cook, Walker Named Consensus All-Americans by NCAA

Consensus All-Americans under Jimbo Fisher

Rodney Hudson, OG, 2010
Shawn Powell, P, 2011
Bjoern Werner, DE, 2012
Jameis Winston, QB, 2013
Lamarcus Joyner, DB, 2013
Bryan Stork, C, 2013
Roberto Aguayo, K, 2014
Tre’ Jackson, OG, 2014
Nick O’Leary, TE, 2014
Jalen Ramsey, DB, 2015
Dalvin Cook, RB, 2016
DeMarcus Walker, DE, 2016

Bold – unanimous All-American

Florida State Unanimous All-Americans All-Time
Deion Sanders, DB, 1987-1988
Terrell Buckley, DB, 1991
Marvin Jones, LB, 1992
Charlie Ward, QB, 1993
Derrick Brooks, LB, 1993
Peter Warrick, WR, 1999
Sebastian Janikowski, K, 1999
Jamal Reynolds, DE, 2000
Alex Barron, OL, 2004
Rodney Hudson, OG, 2010
Bjoern Werner, DE, 2012
Lamarcus Joyner, DB, 2013
Tre’ Jackson, OG, 2014
Dalvin Cook, RB, 2016

Related Articles