July 14, 2017 - by
James, McFadden Collect More Watch List Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt sophomore Derwin James and junior Tarvarus McFadden collected more national watch list honors on Friday with a nod to the 2017 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award watch list.

James earned his fourth watch list this week, while McFadden was selected to his third defensive watch list this week.

The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. It is awarded to the best defensive back in college football based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe.  Thorpe excelled not only as a running back, passer, and kicker on the offensive side of the ball; but also stood out as a defensive back.  In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon. Both Deion Sanders (1988) and Terrell Buckley (1991) won the honor for the Seminoles.

The Paycom Jim Thrope Award will be presented on December 4 in Charlotte, N.C. and the banquet will be held on Feb. 6, 2018 in Oklahoma.

Preseason Watch Lists:

Bednarik (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Matthew Thomas

Maxwell (Player of the Year): Deondre Francois, Derwin James

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team (Community Service): Mavin Saunders

Rimington (Center): Alec Eberle

Mackey (Tight End): Ryan Izzo

Lou Groza (Kicker): Ricky Aguayo

Outland (Interior Lineman): Alec Eberle, Derrick Nnadi

Nagurski (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Josh Sweat

Thorpe (Defensive Back): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden

Related Articles