December 13, 2017 - by
James Named AFCA & Sporting News All-American

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt sophomore defensive back Derwin James was named a second-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association, the group announced Wednesday morning. James was previously named a first-team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America and second-team by the Associated Press and Walter Camp.

Also Wednesday, James was named a second-team Sporting News All-American.

This is the eighth consecutive season at least one Seminole has been named an AFCA All-American, the longest active streak in the country.

James, from Haines City, Fla., is second among Seminole defenders with 84 tackles, adding 5.5 tackles for loss, one sack, two interceptions (one returned 41 yards for a touchdown), a team-high 11 pass breakups and a blocked field goal against Syracuse.

James entered 2017 among the nation’s top players, despite playing just two games in 2016 before a season-ending knee injury. Earlier this month, James was named a first-team All-ACC selection by the ACC, the Associated Press and Pro Football Focus. He was also a Bednarik Award and Thorpe Award semifinalist and a Lott IMPACT Trophy quarterfinalist.

James’ two interceptions tied for the team high in 2017. In FSU’s 27-24 win against Syracuse on Nov. 4, James recorded an interception on Syracuse’s opening drive and ended the game with a blocked field goal that would have tied the game. Against Delaware State, James scored his first touchdown on a 41-yard interception return, one of five non-offensive touchdowns for FSU in 2017, second-most in the country.

James set a season high with 13 tackles at Boston College, one shy of his career-high 14 against Houston in the 2015 Peach Bowl. On special teams, James averaged 28.3 yards per kickoff return, with a career-high 49-yarder coming against NC State on Sept. 23.

James announced earlier this month that he would forego his final two seasons of eligibility and declare for the NFL draft.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and is chosen by a collection of FBS head coaches.

Related Articles