May 30, 2002 - by
Janson Places Ninth, Gill Finishes 11th At 2002 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships

May 30, 2002


The Florida State women’s track and field team kicked things off at the 2002 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships Thursday night with two respectable finishes. Lacy Janson (Sarasota, Fla.), the 2002 Indoor All-American and Atlantic Coast Conference record holder, earned All-America honors once again and was the top freshman in the pole vault competition and placed ninth with a mark of 12-09.50 (3.90m).

Vicky Gill (Lancshire, England) crossed the finish line of the women’s 10,000-meter run finals in 10th place with a time of 35:13.61. The time was the second fastest for Gill, who also competed at the 2001 NCAA Cross Country Championship for the Lady Seminoles.

The women’s competition will resume on Friday along with the first men’s events for the Seminoles. FSU will be competing in seven events including two finals.

Kim Jones (Greensboro, N.C.) will be the busiest Seminole, as she will race in a preliminary heat for the 100-meter hurdles at 7:15 p.m. and later compete in the long jump finals at 8:30 p.m. Jones earned All-America honors in the long jump at the 2002 indoor meet. She will need to run one of the top nine fastest times in the prelims to advance to Saturday’s final.

Natalie Hughes (Grand Junction, Colo.) will join Jones as the only two Lady Seminoles competing on Friday. She will run in the preliminary heats of the 1,500-meter run at 9 p.m. in hopes to advance to the final on Saturday.

The men’s squad will compete in four events, including one final. Michael Jennings (Jacksonville, Fla.) will compete in the 400-meter dash preliminary heats at 7:30 p.m. He will later join David Johnson (Tifton, Ga.), Sean Campbell (Orlando, Fla.) and Cedrick Robinson (Jacksonville, Fla.) in the preliminary runs for the 4×400 relay at 9:20 p.m.

Maarten van den Heuvel (Warnsveld, Netherlands) will run in the men’s 1,500-meter prelims at 8:40 p.m.

Joep Tigchelaar (The Netherlands) will compete in the 10,000-meter run finals at 10:15 p.m. Tigchelaar was the only member of the men’s team to automatically qualify for the meet.

Related Articles