November 28, 2012 - by
Jaurena Named Semifinalist for Hermann Trophy

Nov. 28, 2012

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – For the second consecutive year, Florida State’s Ines Jaurena was named a semifinalist for the Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting Wednesday, Nov. 28 to Wednesday, Dec. 5. New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year’s MAC Hermann Trophy winners.

Fans are encouraged to go online and vote for Jaurena now until midnight on Wednesday, December 5.

Vote Here!

A three-time all-conference honoree, Jaurena was named to the All-ACC first team for the second year in a row in 2012. She has started all 23 games and has played an integral role in leading Florida State back to the College Cup for the second year in a row and sixth time in school history.

The senior defender is part of the Seminole backline that ranks in the top 20 nationally in shutout percentage (1st – 0.739), goals against average (8th – .560) and save percentage (t19th – .851). She also helped FSU post a school-record 17 shutouts, allowing just 13 goals including four in ACC play.

Jaurena enters Friday’s College Cup semifinal game against Penn State ranked sixth on the team with 11 points on four goals and three assists including a career-high three game-winning goals. She has registered the second most minutes played on the team with 2,023.

The French native becomes just the second player in Florida State history to be named a two-time semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy as she joins fellow teammate Tiffany McCarty (2009 & 2011). Jaurena and former FSU All-American Becky Edwards are the only defenders in school history to be recognized as semifinalists for the Hermann Trophy.

In 2007, Mami Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women’s soccer. She won the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66) and finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi played a major role in Florida State’s run to the 2007 National Championship game. The Tokyo, Japan native also made school history becoming the first FSU player to be named a finalist for the Hermann Trophy.

2012 MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist
Natasha Anasi, Jr., D, Duke
Zakiya Bywaters, Sr., MF, UCLA
Daphne Corboz, So., MF, Georgetown
Crystal Dunn, Jr., F, North Carolina
Alina Garciamendez, Sr., D, Stanford
Maya Hayes, Jr., F, Penn State
Ines Jaurena, Sr., D, Florida State
Julie Johnston, Jr., MF, Santa Clara
Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, Sr., D, BYU
Kristen Mewis, Sr., MF, Boston College
Caroline Miller, Sr., F, Virginia
Christine Nairn, Sr., MF, Penn State
Kealia Ohai, Jr., F, North Carolina
Rachel Quon, Sr., D, Stanford
Erika Tymrak, Sr., MF, Florida


Related Articles