April 17, 2014 - by
Jessica Burroughs Named Top 25 Finalist

April 17, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Redshirt freshman Jessica Burroughs was named as one of the top 25 finalists for the inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy on April 17. The award will be presented prior to the start of the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

“Jessica has been so great for us this year and has learned so much from Lacey on how to be a starting pitcher,” said head coach Lonni Alameda. “The entire bullpen has been excellent in helping her grow and mature. These awards are great individual honors but they really show how well the team is playing as a whole. I’m really proud of JB and also how this team has come together and is competing as a family.”

Burroughs is off to an impressive freshman campaign with a 14-1 record and a 2.34 ERA. She has thrown four complete games and has been a part of five shutouts this season. The Warner Robins, Ga., native has allowed just 60 hits and 32 runs, 28 earned runs while recording 88 strikeouts on 83.2 innings pitched.

“I feel really honored to be selected and have been really working hard to get to where I am today,” said Burroughs. “I am so lucky to have such support from my team and a great defense behind me to help me get to the point I am now.”

She is in the top five of the ACC in nine different categories, including leading the conference in runs allowed and her .197 batting average allowed is the second-lowest in the ACC this season.

Burroughs had a career game to wrap up a series sweep of NC State on March 16. She retired 19 in a row from the first inning until the seventh inning, recorded a career-high 10 strikeouts and allowed only two base runners (a single and a home run) in her complete game victory over the Wolfpack.

In her most recent outing at Pitt on April 16, she allowed just two hits and two unearned runs over 5.0 innings while striking out nine batters to help carry Florida State to a 10-3 win and complete the series sweep over the Panthers.

On Thurs., May 8, the list will be trimmed down to the top 10 finalists, while the top three finalists will be selected and released on Thurs., May 22. The inaugural NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year trophy will be presented during a live ceremony on May 27 prior to the opening of the annual Women’s College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page (Facebook.com/FSUsoftball) to keep with everything about Seminole softball throughout the 2014 season.

NFCA Division I National Freshman of the Year – Top 25 Finalists
Ali Aguilar – SS/2B – Washington
Annie Aldrete – DP/C – Tennessee
Maryssa Becker – P/1B – Louisville
Megan Betsa – P – Michigan
Nickie Blue – P – South Carolina
Jessica Burroughs – P – Florida State
Kristen Clark – OF – UCSB
Kasey Cooper – 3B – Auburn
Baylee Corbello – P/UTL – LSU
Tiarra Davis – P/UTL – Texas
Tori Finucane – P – Missouri
Hannah Flippen – 2B – Utah
Taylor Glover – CF/1B – Cal State Northridge
Chelsea Gonzales – 2B/DP – Arizona State
Sara Groenewegen – P/IF – Minnesota
Haley Hayden – OF – Louisiana-Lafayette
Sierra Hyland – P/DP – Cal Poly
Milly Martinet – RF – Campbell
Katiyana Mauga – RF – Arizona
Jill Roye – 1B/DP – Tulsa
Caroline Seitz – 3B – Mississippi State
Lexi Shubert – P – USC Upstate
Kylie Sorenson – SS/3B/P – Stanford
Delaney Spaulding – SS – UCLA
Karley Wester – OF – Notre Dame

Related Articles