May 28, 2019 - by
Pak Named First-Team All-American

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – John Pak’s record-setting season has been capped by being named a PING! First-Team All-American, announced on Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Pak is one of just 10 first-team All-Americans named by the GCAA, putting himself in elite company to help highlight a year in which he set the lowest stroke average by a Seminole at 69.56.

“I’m really happy for John,” FSU head coach Trey Jones said. “Being one of the Top 10 golfers in collegiate golf is a great accomplishment. One that goes to John and the hard work and the dedication that he has put in. He is one of the top junior players in the country and has used our resources and continued to get better. He has an excellent supporting cast around him with his Mom, Dad and teacher in Orlando. I look for John to use this and continue to improve and become a better player each year.”

Pak is the first Seminole to earn first-team All-America honors since Jack Maguire was named to the first team by Golfweek. He also joins Daniel Berger (2013), Jonas Blixt (2008), Bobby Cochran (1994) and Nolan Henke (1987) on the list.

Pak now owns two of the top three single-year averages at Florida State, as his 70.49 scoring average as a freshman ranks as the third-lowest. He ended his sophomore campaign with four victories, seven Top-5 finishes and eight Top-10 finishes in 11 events.

The Scotch Plains, N.J., native has earned several accolades this year: PING! All-Region, All-ACC First Team, Jack Nicklaus Player of the Year Semifinalist and Haskins Award Watch List Finalist. He also won the ACC Championship.

Pak is the 12th-ranked golfer nationally according to Golfstat, and owns a 12-9 record vs. Top 25 competition. Of his 32 rounds played, 24 were at par or less and 15 rounds were recorded in the 60s. Pak had a phenomenal stretch where he recorded 10 straight rounds in the 60s.

Division I PING First-Team All-Americans

Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Cole Hammer, Texas
Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
Collin Morikawa, California
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson
John Pak, Florida State
Justin Suh, Southern California
Matthew Wolff, Oklahoma State
Chun An Yu, Arizona State

Related Articles