November 27, 2016 - by
Johnson Wins Second Jacobs Blocking Trophy

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Roderick Johnson has been voted the winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second consecutive year, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday.

Florida State has now won the honor, given to the ACC’s top offensive lineman, four straight years with Cameron Erving collecting the award from 2013-14 and Johnson winning in 2015-16.

Since joining the ACC in 1992, Florida State has won 12 of the 24 Jacobs Blocking Trophy honors the conference has handed out. Overall, seven Seminole offensive linemen have claimed the honor 12 times.

“Rod has had a tremendous year,” Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher said. “He has been a leader for our offensive line and our offense as a whole. To win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy two years in a row is an incredible honor and puts a player in some rare company. Rod improved throughout the season, started every game for us and was a key part of our team finishing on a high note. I’m very proud of him.”

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945.

Johnson, a 6-foot-7, 311-pound junior from Florissant, Missouri, has started 30 consecutive games at left tackle for the Seminoles and was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice this season after wins over USF and Syracuse.

Johnson has been instrumental in Florida State having one of the nation’s top offenses in 2016. He has paved the way for Dalvin Cook to rush for an ACC-best 1,620 yards and 18 touchdowns, while also protecting the league’s top first-year player in redshirt freshman quarterback Deondre Francois. Francois has passed for 3,128 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Johnson leads an FSU offense that ranks third in the ACC in total yards (474.3) and fourth in scoring offense (35.2). Most impressively, the Seminoles lead the nation in red zone offense at 96.3 percent (52 of 54).

Johnson is the fifth Seminole to win the Jacobs Blocking Trophy twice, joining guard Rodney Hudson (2009 and 2010), tackle Brett Williams (2001 and 2002), center Clay Shiver (1994 and 1995) and Erving (2013 and 2014). Tackles Tra Thomas (1997) and Tarlos Thomas (2000) were each honored once.

Johnson will be recognized during the Commissioner’s Tailgate and during pregame at the 2016 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game next Saturday in Orlando.

Johnson amassed 16 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 63rd ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). He edged out Pitt tackle Adam Bisnowaty (15 points) and Pitt guard Dorian Johnson (13). Nineteen offensive linemen received votes in the balloting.

Johnson Wins Second Jacobs Blocking Trophy
Related Articles