November 7, 2013 - by
Kallman Named ACC Defensive Player of the Year

Nov. 7, 2013

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Kassey Kallman was recognized as one of the best defenders in the nation on Thursday when the senior captain became the first Seminole in school history to earn ACC Defensive Player of the Year accolades.

Kallman was one of six Seminoles to garner All-ACC honors as announced by the league office on Thursday, November 7 and voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches.

Dagny Brynjarsdottir and Kallman were named to the All-ACC first team, while Megan Campbell, Kristin Grubka and Kelsey Wys earned All-ACC second team accolades. Nickolette Driesse claimed a spot on the All-ACC Freshman Team.

Kallman has started every game in the backline in 2013 and ranks second on the team in minutes played. She, along Campbell, Grubka and Wys, are part of the Seminole backline that ranks in the top 25 nationally in goals against average (11th) and save percentage (24th), while their 11 shutouts are the third most in the ACC.

The Woodbury, Minn., native joins an elite group of Seminoles to be named Player of the Year by the ACC joining Mami Yamaguchi and Tiffany McCarty who earned the league’s Offensive Player of the Year award in 2007 and 2009, respectively.

Kallman and Wys garnered all-conference honors for the third time in their career, while Kallman was named to the All-ACC first team for the second straight year. Brynjarsdottir was named an All-ACC honoree for the second year in a row as it marked her first selection as a first team member. The second team accolade for both Campbell and Grubka are the first of their careers.

Brynjarsdottir is having an outstanding junior season in which she leads the team in points (21), goals (9), shots (47) and game-winning goals (5). The Icelandic native currently ranks in the top 15 in the ACC in four offensive categories. Her nine goals on the year match a season-high from her sophomore season, while her five game-winning goals in 2013 ties a single-season career-high.

Along with their play on the defensive side of the ball, both Campbell and Grubka have also contributed on the offensive side as well. Campbell leads the team in assists with seven as six came against league foes to set a single-season school record. Campbell, a native of Louth, Ireland, ranks fourth in the ACC in assists per game (0.41). Grubka has four points on the year with a pair of goals has both goals came against Duke including the game-winner inside Koskinen Stadium to give the Seminoles their first-ever victory in Durham.

Wys is having another spectacular season in goal for Florida State as the redshirt senior goalkeeper has played every minute between the posts. Wys has allowed just 11 goals in over 1800 minutes on the pitch en route to a goals against average of 0.53. The Coral Springs, Fla., native has registered 51 saves and posted 11 shutouts on the year.

Driesse is the only Seminole freshmen to play in all 20 matches heading into the ACC semifinals on Friday. The Wayne, N.J., native sits tied for third on the team with five assists with three resulting in game-winners. She has tallied over 1500 minutes on the pitch in her first collegiate season.

Florida State and Virginia led all schools with six All-ACC selections, followed by Boston College, Duke, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest, who each earned four all-conference honors.

Florida State is back in action on Friday, November 8 at 8:00 p.m. against North Carolina in the ACC Women’s Soccer Championship semifinals. The match will be played at WakeMed Park in Cary, N.C. and will air live on ESPN3.

Here is a complete list of the 2013 All-ACC Women’s Soccer Teams:

Offensive Player of the Year: Crystal Dunn, Sr., M, North Carolina
Defensive Player of the Year: Kassey Kallman, D, Sr., Florida State
Freshman of the Year: Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Coach of the Year: Steve Swanson, Virginia

All-ACC First Team
Aubrey Bledsoe, GK, Sr., Wake Forest
Morgan Brian, Jr., M, Virginia
Dagny Brynjarsdottir, Jr., M, Florida State
Makenzy Doniak, So., F, Virginia
Crystal Dunn, Sr., M, North Carolina
Kassey Kallman, Sr., D, Florida State
Stephanie McCaffrey, Jr., F, Boston College
Kealia Ohai, Sr., F, North Carolina
Jazmine Reeves, Sr., F, Virginia Tech
Cari Roccaro, So., M, Notre Dame
Emily Sonnet, So., D, Virginia

All-ACC Second Team
Natasha Anasi, D, Sr., Duke
Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Hayley Brock, Sr., F, Maryland
Megan Campbell, Jr., D, Florida State
Danielle Colaprico, Jr., M, Virginia
Kristin Grubka, Jr., D, Florida State
McKenzie Meehan, So., F, Boston College
Ashley Meier, So., M, Virginia Tech
Riley Ridgik, Jr., M, Wake Forest
Katie Stengel, F, Sr., Wake Forest
Kelsey Wys, Sr., GK, Florida State

All-ACC Third Team
Jordan Coburn, So., D, Virginia Tech
Kim DeCesare, R-Sr., F, Duke
Ashley Flinn, Jr., F, Miami
Summer Green, So, F, North Carolina
Mandy Laddish, Sr., M, Notre Dame
Vanessa Laxgang, Sr. M, Clemson
Molly Menchel, Sr., D, Virginia
Casey Morrison, Jr., D, Boston College
Kailen Sheridan, Fr., GK, Clemson
Ashley Spivey, So., F, Maryland
Jackie Stengel, Fr., Fr., NC State

ACC All-Freshman Team
Morgan Andrews, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Hayley Dowd, Fr., F, Boston College
Nickolette Driesse, Fr., M, Florida State
Christina Gibbons, Fr., D, Duke
Amber Munerlyn, Fr., F, North Carolina
Toni Payne, Fr., M, Duke
Kailen Sheridan, Fr., GK, Clemson
Morgan Stearns, Fr., GK, Virginia
Jackie Stengel, Fr., F, NC State
Sarah Teegarden, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Murielle Tiernan, Fr., F, Virginia Tech


Related Articles