February 13, 2020 - by

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Two more significant honors are headed toward Kiah Gillespie’s way. The ACC Player of the Year candidate was selected to the Citizen’s Naismith Trophy Midseason 30 by the Atlanta Tipoff Club and earned a spot as a Katrina McClain Award finalist given to the nation’s top power forward.

Earlier this week, Gillespie was named ESPNW’s National Player of the Week as well as the ACC’s Player of the Week. She also moved up in ESPNW’s top player rankings, coming in at 20th.

Gillespie is one of four ACC student-athletes on the Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team, joining Duke’s Haley Gorecki, Louisville’s Dana Evans and NC State’s Elissa Cunane. She is the only ACC player who is a McClain Award finalist.

The Meriden, Conn., native has a list of several other accolades as well, including being part of the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 and the Wade Watch List.

She is the ACC’s lone three-time player of the week this season. Gillespie ranks in the Top 7 in the conference in overall scoring (15.8 – 7th), rebounding (9.0 – 4th), field goal percentage (45.0 – 7th), defensive rebounds (6.8 – 4th) and double-doubles (10 – 3rd).

Impressively, her scoring has actually increased in conference play, where she averages 16.2 points per game. In ACC play only, she has 20-point performances at Syracuse (27), at then-No. 5 Louisville (25), at No. 4 NC State (22), Virginia (22) and at Miami (21).

The winner of the 2020 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Gillespie and the Seminoles have another big matchup on Sunday at Duke at 1 p.m. on ESPN2.

2020 Katrina McClain Award Candidates*
Cate Reese, Arizona
Lauren Cox, Baylor
Sara Rhine, Drake
Kiah Gillespie, Florida State
Ayana Mitchell, LSU
Naz Hillmon, Michigan
Ruthy Hebard, Oregon
Bella Alarie, Princeton
Joyner Holmes, Texas
N’dea Jones, Texas A&M

Related Articles