June 23, 2019 - by
Kinhult, Wallin Named Golfweek All-Americans

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Frida Kinhult (First Team) and Beatrice Wallin (Honorable Mention) – who helped lead the Florida State Women’s Golf Team to a No. 9 National Ranking during the 2019 season – have earned All-American Honors as chosen by the collegiate editors at Golfweek. Kinhult has now earned First Team All-American Honors by both the Women’s Golf Coaches Association and Golfweek while Wallin earned All-American honors from Golfweek for the first time in her career.

The Seminoles’ two selections to the All-American teams as named by Golfweek made the Seminoles one of only three teams in the ACC with multiple All-Americans and one of only six teams in the ACC with at least one golfer named to the First, Second, Third and Honorable Mention All-American Teams.

“We are proud of both Frida and Beatrice for their success on the golf course and in the classroom as true freshmen members of our team.” Said Bond. “Their success as first-year players in our program illustrates how far hard work, dedication and striving to reach your goals can take you. We are fortunate that all the golfers on our team are very diligent in setting goals and working hard to attain those goals.”

Kinhult, the current No. 2 amateur in the World Amateur Golf Ranking, is a unanimous First Team All-American selection for the 2018-19 season. She is one of only nine golfers in the nation to be named a First Team All-American by both the WGCA and Golfweek.

Kinhult enjoyed a sensational year as a freshman in being named a First-Team All-American, the National Freshman of the Year, the Golfstat Cup winner for the player with nation’s lowest stroke average (70.66), the ACC Golfer of the Year (Co), the ACC Freshman of the Year and to the All-ACC team. Kinhult was a finalist for the WGCA and ANNIKA National Player of the Year Awards and was a finalist for the Honda Award presented to the nation’s top golfer. She is also Florida State’s nominee for the Mary Garber Award as the ACC’s Top Female Athlete in 2019.

Kinhult led the Seminoles to the NCAA Championship Finals with two individual victories (at the Jim West Challenge and the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate), played in the ANA Inspiration in April (the first major of the LPGA season), and led the Seminoles to seven top five team finishes. With Kinhult in the lineup, the Seminoles won the team championships at the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate and the Evans Derby Experience.

Wallin also enjoyed an impressive season in earning Honorable Mention All-American Honors. She earned All-ACC Honors as one of the top players in the top conference for women’s golf in the nation. Wallin was a member of Florida State’s lineup in all seven events of the spring season and each of the 11 events for the Seminoles during her freshman year. Wallin finished third on the team with her 73.70 stroke average and totaled nearly half of her rounds at par or better (15 of 31, .484 percent).

Wallin finished in a tie for seventh place at the Inaugural Augusta National Women’s Amateur in April. The event was played at the famed Augusta National Golf Club – the first women’s event that had ever been played on the hallowed grounds at Augusta.

Both Kinhult and Wallin were named to the All-ACC Academic Women’s Golf team earlier this week as both golfers earned cumulative grade point averages of better than 3.2 for the fall 2018 and spring 2019 semesters.

Frida Kinhult (Florida State)

Jaravee Boonchant (Duke)
Jennifer Chang (USC)
Maria Fassi (Arkansas)
Jiwon Jeon (Alabama)
Jennifer Kupcho (Wake Forest)
Andrea Lee (Stanford)
Emilia Migliaccio (Wake Forest)
Patty Tavatanakit (UCLA)
Albane Valenzuela (Stanford)

Sierra Brooks (Florida)
Hailee Cooper (Texas)
Sofia Garcia (Texas Tech)
Yusang Hou (Arizona)
Agathe Laisne (Texas)
Siyun Liu (Wake Forest)
Olivia Mehaffey (Arizona State)
Malia Nam (USC)
Kaitlyn Papp (Texas)
Bianca Pagdanganan (Arizona)

Ana Belac (Duke)
Kaylee Benton (Arkansas)
Mariel Galdiano (UCLA)
Auston Kim (Vanderbilt)
Julie McCarthy (Auburn)
Natasha Andrea Oon (San Jose State)
Emily Price (South Carolina)
Anna Redding (Virginia)
Gabriela Ruffels (USC)
Aneka Seumanutafa (Ohio State)

Beatrice Wallin (Florida State)

Alyaa Abdulghany (USC)
Abegail Arevalo (San Jose State)
Abbey Carlson (Vanderbilt)
Virginia Elena Carta (Duke)
Amelia Garvey (USC)
Haylee Harford (Furman)
Leonie Harm (Houston)
Lauren Hartlage (Louisville)
Amanda Hollandsworth (Virginia Tech)
Lois Kaye Go (South Carolina)
Gina Kim (Duke)
Aline Krauter (Stanford)
Brooke Matthews (Arkansas)
Elizabeth Moon (UCF)
Hira Naveed (Pepperdine)
Brooke Riley (Northwestern)
Natalie Srinivasan (Furman)
Karoline Stormo (Kent State)
Bethany Wu (UCLA)

Related Articles